Home · Portugal · Lisbon
← Back to home

Redbridge International School

Португалия Lisbon, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Lisbon
65.3#52 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The school keeps two campuses in Lisbon - on Rua Francisco Metrass in Campo de Ourique and at Tapada da Ajuda - and teaches 600 children aged 3 to 18 who come from 36 countries. Lessons run in three languages, and that shows in the way the school is built: the French pathway runs from CP to Terminale, the Portuguese one from 1º to 6º ano, the Cambridge one from Year 8 to Year 11, and Year 12 is given to the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme; its own admission rules say the same thing, requiring previous exposure to at least one of the three school languages, English, French or Portuguese. There are 116 staff for 40 classes, and the school states one adult per six pupils and an average class of 16. Phones are banned, uniform is required, there is a food education programme and there are parent representatives. Tuition amounts are published as separate tables per school year, while the pages themselves name only the kinds of fees.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · French programme · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, French, Portuguese
School website
Students
600
Students per teacher
6
Class size
16 pupils
Admissions The school admits children from pre-school up to Year 12 and says plainly that it takes all of them regardless of race, nationality, social background or religion, committing separately to equal treatment. There is one condition, and it is linguistic: an applicant must have previous exposure to at least one of the three school languages. In maternelle a good understanding and oral command of English, or of French or Portuguese, is enough; from CP to CE1 level A1 in French or Portuguese and Starters or Movers in English are needed; from CE2 to CM1 it is A2 and Flyers or Key for Schools; from CM2 upwards it is B1 or B2 depending on the grade. From CP upwards the school sets a written online assessment in English and mathematics and may add a French or Portuguese one: from it the school judges whether a child can benefit from bilingual schooling and whether support is needed. Grade placement is set by date of birth with 31 December as the cut-off date, and the first four weeks are probationary. Families applying from abroad are interviewed remotely. Priority goes to children of staff, to siblings of current pupils and to returning pupils. Children with special educational needs or medical conditions are provided for as far as the school can, and it keeps language support in French, Portuguese and English.
Stages and year groups Grades pre-school from Petite Section to Grande Section, French pathway CP - Terminale, Portuguese pathway 1º ano - 6º ano, Cambridge pathway Year 8 - Year 11, International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme Year 12. The school keeps 40 classes across two campuses, and the average class is 16.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

AEFE · membershipCambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeIB · authorised programme
The school names the IB Diploma as its Year 12 programme. The school is not in the official IB registry: the Portuguese list was swept in full on 27.09.2026 and agreed with the registry's own counter. The record therefore stands on the school's own word and does not count towards the score.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad

It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What this status would mean. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The school is not in the organisation's register: the status comes from the school's own words. Which stage this school is authorised for - PYP, MYP, DP or CP - is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
French programme

The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.

What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.

National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Two campuses in Lisbon - on Rua Francisco Metrass in Campo de Ourique and at Tapada da Ajuda. School transport and food are provided, but neither is included in tuition.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
For 600 pupils the school has 116 staff and 40 classes; it states one adult per six pupils and an average class of 16.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
74
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

The International School of MadeiraFunchal · 64.8Kairos MontessoriCascais · 64.8International School of PalmelaPalmela · 64.7Prime School SintraSintra · 64.7