Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Repton School Dubai

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 2007 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
71.2#72 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Repton School Dubai opened in 2007 in Nad Al Sheba 3 and traces its line to Repton School in Derbyshire, England, founded in 1557, a year before Elizabeth I came to the throne; the founder of the Dubai school, Khaled Al Mheiri, built it on the British Repton model, and it calls itself the first UK independent school in the Middle East. It takes pupils from three to eighteen, from more than eighty nationalities, and there are three routes at the end: IGCSE, A Levels and the IB Diploma Programme, where a pupil takes six subjects - three at Higher and three at Standard Level - plus the core of Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay and CAS. What most sets the school apart is boarding: it is open to Years 7 to 13, full from Sunday to Saturday or weekly from Sunday to Thursday, boarders have their own supervised prep time with specialist teachers, and they live, in the school's words, on the largest campus in the Middle East. The campus is being rebuilt entirely: the Repton Sports Village will hold two full-sized rugby and football fields, a junior pitch, a 200-metre running track and a 100-metre sprint track, a large multi-sport astroturf area with a central cricket square and integrated nets, and shaded courts for netball, padel and pickleball, while the two indoor basketball courts are being fully refurbished and the swimming pools substantially upgraded. At the centre of the creative side stands the Repton Performing Arts Centre. The extracurricular programme is about leaving the campus: climbing in the French Alps, community service in the jungles of Thailand, cricket. The school's care and support have been rated Outstanding in all areas by the KHDA for ten years running, it follows the Cognita Be Well Charter, and it runs its own Dovecote Nursery.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $15 569–27 979 a year
57 178–102 753 AED
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
About the fees The annual fee in the school's table: FS1 57,178 dirhams, FS2 63,025, Years 1 and 2 at 64,631, Year 3 66,732, Year 4 67,266, Years 5 and 6 at 75,953, Year 7 81,121, Year 8 84,366, Year 9 86,529, Years 10 and 11 at 95,182, and Years 12 and 13 at 102,753. It is paid in three parts, the first larger than the other two. Boarding is charged on top of tuition and only for Years 7 to 13: full boarding, Sunday to Saturday, costs 72,000 dirhams a year, weekly boarding, Sunday to Thursday, 66,500.
Admissions The admissions procedure is set out on a page of its own, alongside pages for booking a tour, open days and questions and answers. The school runs a scholarship programme. It names no grade requirements on the pages we read.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 13, up to age 18. The stages run straight through from three to eighteen: FS1 and FS2, the primary school Years 1 to 6, the secondary Years 7 to 11 ending with IGCSE, and the senior years 12 and 13, where the choice is A Levels or the IB Diploma Programme. Boarding is open from Year 7. The school also runs a separate Dovecote Nursery.
Address Nad Al Sheba 3, P.O. Box 300331

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeIB · DP · authorised programmeBSME · part of the associationCognita · school is part of the network
The Cambridge registration is taken from the registry. The school describes the IB Diploma Programme in detail on a page of its own - six subjects, three at Higher and three at Standard Level, with the core of Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay and CAS - but we did not open the IB registry, so there is no IB entry in the card. The school publishes its own inspections and takes part in two: the Dubai Schools Inspection Bureau, where it has held an Outstanding rating since 2014, and the British Schools Overseas scheme. It also calls itself the first UK independent school in the Middle East and part of the Cognita group. BSME membership is not entered in the card: that organisation is not yet in our directory.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Cognitaschool network

A group of schools launched in 2004; the legal entity in the footer of the site is Cognita Holdings Limited. The site names 90 schools in 21 countries, 14 curricula and more than 22,000 staff, and the numbers agree on all the pages read. The section on a school joining the group speaks of working with the owners of schools and of integrating the school, but does not say outright whether the school passes into ownership; the word "franchise" does not appear on the site. The majority owner of Cognita itself is named as Jacobs Holding AG.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: A campus in Nad Al Sheba 3, which the school calls the largest in the Middle East and which is at present being rebuilt entirely. The Repton sports village is to have two full-size pitches for rugby and football, a junior pitch, a running track of two hundred metres and a sprint track of one hundred, a large multi-purpose area with artificial grass, a cricket square in the middle and built-in cricket nets, and shaded courts for netball, padel and pickleball; two indoor basketball halls are being rebuilt completely and the pools substantially improved. At the centre of the creative side is the Repton performing arts centre. There are boarding houses for Year 7 to Year 13.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
There is a medical centre on campus with qualified medical staff who are always available to boarders. A school counsellor works separately: the school writes that they ensure the students' emotional wellbeing is prioritised.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
89
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
53
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

GEMS World Academy DubaiDubai · 71.2GEMS Cambridge International Private School - SharjahSharjah · 71.2Canadian International School Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 71.2ICS Al DanahAbu Dhabi · 71.3