Rønde Privatskole is a private, state-subsidised school (privatskole) in Rønde on the Djursland peninsula, between Aarhus and Ebeltoft, for the upper grades only: grades 7-9 and grade 10 (10X). Founded in 1917, it calls itself an academic, upper-secondary-oriented school with high standards; it shares its buildings with Syddjurs Gymnasium, so students can take the folkeskole leaving exams and then go on to upper secondary in the same buildings. Teaching is in Danish following the folkeskole common objectives, with FP9 and FP10 exams; in grades 7-8 students choose music or visual arts, and technology understanding is taught. The school calls itself a Cambridge International School: it has extra hours of English and German, and grade 9 students can opt to sit Cambridge International Examinations in these languages. In grade 8 everyone goes on a one-week exchange to schools in Belgium, the Netherlands or Germany with homestays, grade 9 goes to Copenhagen, and 10X goes skiing and on a trip within Denmark; through Erasmus+ the school works with the Dutch school Were-Di.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $2 872 a year
1 900 DKK a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Danish
Languages taught
English, German
Class size
at most 25 students in grades 7-10 pupils
Registration fee
≈ $76
500 DKK
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 are 1900 DKK a month, 12 payments in advance from August to July; fees rise by 2% each school year. On top there is a monthly charge for trips and excursions: 195 DKK in grades 7-9 and 500 DKK in grade 10 (2400 DKK a month in total for grade 10). Sibling discounts are 25% for the second child and 50% for each further child; families can apply for a full or partial fee waiver (friplads). The school states one price for all families; there is no separate price for families without a Danish CPR number.
Admissions To apply, the child is registered on the school's electronic waiting list for a one-off fee of 500 DKK; the second parent can link their CPR number to the registration via MitID. Students are admitted in waiting-list order, with priority for siblings of current students. Before starting, every student and their parents attend an admission interview: the school presents its values and makes sure the family supports them; interviews usually take place in the autumn alongside the open day. An enrolment fee of 4400 DKK is paid at the start. For 2026-2027 the school asks interested families to contact it for all grades. The school says it is open to all young people who want to learn and admits students with various challenges, but it may end the cooperation if it does not work.
Stages and year groups Grades 7-10. Grades 7-9 and 10X; at most 25 students per class and at most 66 students in grade 7 (three classes). Teaching follows the folkeskole common objectives with FP9 exams; grade 8 has an annual test, grades 9 and 10 mock exams; marks are given twice in grade 7 and three times in grades 8-10. 10X prepares for upper secondary school: Danish, English and mathematics are compulsory, physics/chemistry and German optional (25, 29 or 33 lessons a week), with FredagsFlex on Fridays; the year ends with FP10 exams. Cambridge: the school says it is a Cambridge International School; preparation for the Cambridge exams is built into regular English and German lessons with extra hours, participation is optional, the fee is 1500 DKK and students sign up at the start of grade 9. The grade 9 exam in each language has three parts (a conversation, a listening test and a written paper), and the work is marked by Cambridge International Examinations in England with one overall grade; there are two levels, Core and Extended, and the certificate arrives in October-November after grade 9. The school does not use the word IGCSE, but the Core and Extended levels and this exam structure match Cambridge IGCSE English as a second language and German as a foreign language.
Address Kr. Herskindsvej 6, 8410 Rønde
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre: in Year 9 students can sit Cambridge International exams in English and German at Core and Extended levels. The main curriculum is Danish, with the folkeskole exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies old, atmospheric buildings in the centre of Rønde on the Djursland peninsula and shares them and modern subject rooms, including rooms for science experiments, with Syddjurs Gymnasium. There is a canteen with the organic bronze label; under the national school meal pilot for 2025-2028 a lunch costs 15 DKK. PE lessons take place in the halls of the neighbouring Rønde Efterskole, and the school works with Rønde public library. There is wireless internet throughout, and every classroom has a projector, a board and speakers; students bring their own laptop, and the school provides software including Microsoft Office. Rønde bus station is a two-minute walk away, and a school bus runs on route 217 (100 DKK a month). There is no boarding.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers21
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: subject and teaching qualifications at teacher-training main subject (linjefag) or university level
The site lists 21 teachers (one on leave, one a one-year substitute) and a mentor; management consists of the principal, the vice principal and a head of department. The school says its teachers have solid subject and teaching qualifications at main-subject or academic level; they include trained teachers, teachers with accelerated retraining (meritlærer) and university graduates. There is a reading adviser, a mathematics adviser and AKT teachers (behaviour, contact, well-being); the school takes student teachers for practice placements. The municipal guidance counsellor is at the school once a week.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school does not tolerate bullying, at school or online, and contacts students and parents at once. A resource centre (the principal, the reading adviser and the mentor) and AKT teachers help teenagers who are struggling, and there are courses on exam anxiety; in serious cases parents and the municipality are involved. Mobile phones are locked in a classroom cabinet in the morning and returned at the end of the day; smoking and vaping are not allowed on site. In grade 8 every student is offered a talk with the school nurse. An independent inspector is chosen by the parents' circle and the board, and the school publishes the inspector's annual reports on teaching quality.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country