Home · UAE · Fujairah
← Back to home

Royal Private English School

ОАЭ Fujairah, UAE · est. 1988 · Private
Illustration · Fujairah
75.5#11 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Royal Private English School is a large, long-established school on the east coast: it was opened in 1988 by the then Deputy Ruler of Fujairah, Sheikh Hamad bin Saif Al Sharqi, and now holds 3,226 pupils and 284 staff. The school runs two curricula at once, and that is the main thing for a parent to grasp: the British one with Cambridge IGCSE examinations (AS and A Level were added in September 2022) and the Indian CBSE. Both run from kindergarten to Grade 12, they are charged for differently, and their school years begin in different months - August-September for the British stream and April for CBSE. Teaching is in English; Arabic is compulsory at two levels, Islamic studies are taught in English or Arabic, and the second language is Urdu, Bengali, Hindi or Malayalam. The school keeps its own clinic with a doctor and nurses, CCTV outside, inside and in the classrooms, and a special educational needs department with its own special educator and school counsellor. The day is short: kindergarten from 7:30 to 11:30, Grades 1-12 until 13:45, and on Fridays everyone finishes at 11:30.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $1 547–3 894 a year
5 680–14 300 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
4 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, Hindi
Registration fee
≈ $136
500 AED
About the fees The annual fee in UAE dirhams for 2025-2026. British stream (IGCSE): 6,700 for KG1, 8,300 for Grade 1, 9,600 for Grade 6, 10,700 for Grade 7, 12,800 for Grade 9 and 14,300 for Grade 11. The CBSE stream is cheaper - the published range runs from 5,680 to 12,000 dirhams by stage. The school states plainly that the fee depends on the curriculum and the stage. The 500-dirham registration fee is non-refundable and is paid together with the first month's tuition. Bus fees are charged separately by route: 2,750 for Fujairah, 3,000 for Kalba, 3,350 for Mirbah, 3,400 for Khor Fakkan, 4,100 for Bidiyah and 4,800 for Masafi and Dhaid, for ten months. Payment goes through the zenda app, including in instalments.
Admissions Admission is open from KG1 to Grade 12 and requires prior online registration. There is no entrance test for KG1, but the principal or headmaster interviews the parents and the child. KG2 applicants sit a test in English and mathematics, Grades 1-9 in English, science and mathematics, and Grade 11 in English and general aptitude; the pass mark from KG2 upwards is at least 65 per cent in both English and mathematics. No pupil is admitted into IGCSE Grade 11 without the previous year completed. Age is counted by the calendar of each curriculum: in the British stream a child must turn 4 by 31 December of the year of entry for KG1, 5 for KG2 and 6 for Grade 1; in CBSE the same ages are counted at 31 March. After a successful test and interview, a non-refundable registration fee of 500 dirhams and one month's tuition are paid.
Stages and year groups Grades KG1 to Grade 12. Both curricula run from kindergarten to Grade 12. In the British stream: Early Years (KG1 and KG2) on an enhanced Foundation Stage programme, Junior School for Grades 1-4, Middle School for Grades 5-7, then the senior stage with IGCSE and, from September 2022, AS and A Level. In the CBSE stream: kindergarten, Junior School Grades 1-2 and 3-4, Middle School Grades 5-8 and the senior grades. The day: kindergarten from 7:30 to 11:30, Grades 1-12 from 7:30 to 13:45, and on Fridays everyone until 11:30.
Address Al Faseel, P.O. Box 967

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The campus has Wi-Fi throughout and a projector in every classroom: two spacious libraries, three high-tech ICT laboratories, dedicated science laboratories and a general science lab, and audio-visual resources. Sport: a cricket pitch, a football field, a basketball and throwball court and an astro-turf. There is a school clinic, an affordably priced canteen, a store for textbooks and uniforms, and school buses.
Clubs and activities (13): "Tons of fun" physical education and eurhythmics · "Young Picasso" arts and crafts · Literature · "The Moon Rockers" space and science · "Impulse" debating club · Integrated activities · Literacy · Sports · "Happy Pixels" arts and crafts · "Tech-novation" technology · Science · Mathematics · Art

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has its own clinic: a trained school doctor and government-licensed nurses, first aid, treatment of minor illnesses and regular check-ups of height, weight, eyes, ears and teeth. CCTV is installed outdoors, indoors and in the classrooms - the school explains this both as security and as a deterrent against bullying. The special educational needs department is run by a special educator and a school counsellor: they assess children referred by a teacher or a parent and draw up individual education, learning and behaviour plans. A separate counselling and learning support department works along three lines - academic, personal-social and career - and provides careers guidance up to preparation for university entrance examinations. The child protection policy is published on the site, as is the Ministry of Education behaviour policy in both languages; the school is certified as a National Online Safety Certified School.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
89
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Al Diyafah High School L.L.C.Dubai · 75.3Emirates National Schools - Ras al Khaimah CampusRas Al Khaimah · 75.7GEMS Founders School - Al MizharDubai · 75.1GEMS Westminster School - Ras Al KhaimahRas Al Khaimah · 75.9