← Back to homeSafa British School

Dubai, UAE · est. 2005 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
Safa British School is an all-through British school in the heart of Jumeirah, running since 2005: it marked twenty years in education in 2025. It is one of the few Emirati schools that publishes figures about itself rather than adjectives: 1,780 pupils from 83 countries, boys and girls almost exactly evenly split, one teacher to eleven pupils, 24 pupils to a class, 283 staff of whom 158 are specialist teachers and 71 teaching assistants. The make-up of its teachers is stated too: half from the United Kingdom and a further fifth from Ireland. The British BSO inspection rated the school outstanding. The school describes child protection in more detail than most: it aligns its procedures with the British Keeping Children Safe in Education guidance and with the compliance standards of the Dubai education authority, and its clinic works to the protocols of the Dubai Health Authority. The day is arranged by stage: FS1 goes home at 12:45, FS2 at 14:00, the lower years between 14:15 and 14:50, the middle years between 15:20 and 15:30, and Fridays are shorter. The senior stage has an area of its own, and the school calls Safa Senior School the first pre-university campus of its kind.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $12 370–20 027 a year
45 428–73 550 AED
Registration fee
≈ $136
500 AED
About the fees The annual fee for 2026-2027: 45,428 dirhams for FS1, 49,754 for FS2 and Year 1, 54,081 for Years 2 and 3, 58,407 for Years 4 and 5, 60,571 for Year 6, 62,733 for Year 7, 64,897 for Year 8, 67,060 for Year 9, 70,305 for Years 10 and 11 and 73,550 for Years 12 and 13. It is paid in three parts - 40 per cent in the first term and 30 per cent in each of the second and third. The application fee is 500 dirhams, charged once. Fee fact sheets for every stage are published separately.
Admissions Admission is set out on separate pages together with the age placement grid, scholarships, school visits and tours, and online enrolment. The application fee is 500 dirhams, charged once. The school is all-through: it takes pupils from FS1 and carries them to Year 13.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 - Year 13. The stages run straight through: FS1 and FS2 are the Foundation Stage, then the primary school, then the secondary school across Key Stages 3 and 4, where at Key Stage 4 a pupil takes GCSE qualifications, and then the senior stage with an area of its own and the Safa Senior School pre-university campus. The day ends by stage: FS1 at 12:45-13:00, FS2 at 14:00-14:15, Years 1 to 3 at 14:15-14:30, Years 4 to 6 at 14:40-14:50 and Years 7 to 11 at 15:20-15:30; Fridays are shorter.
Address Jumeirah
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East
One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: A campus in the heart of Jumeirah, which the school calls innovatively designed: enhanced outdoor play areas with continuous provision through play for the youngest, a dedicated Sixth Form area, and Safa Senior School, a pre-university campus the school calls the first of its kind. A school clinic operates on campus.
Clubs and activities: Primary school extracurricular activities programme · Secondary school extracurricular activities programme · Duke of Edinburgh's Award · Micro, Mini and Junior Duke · Creative arts · Expressive arts · House system
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school publishes its staffing in figures: 283 staff, of whom 158 are specialist teachers and 71 teaching assistants, with one teacher to eleven pupils. Half the teachers are from the United Kingdom, 22 per cent from Ireland, 5 per cent from Australia, Canada and South Africa, and the remaining 23 per cent from elsewhere. The teachers are UK-trained.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school puts the safety, wellbeing and protection of every child first and says safeguarding is embedded in everything it does. It calls its child protection procedures robust, proactive and consistently reviewed, and aligns them with the British Keeping Children Safe in Education guidance and with the compliance standards of the Dubai education authority; all staff are trained. Its own school clinic works to the protocols of the Dubai Health Authority and the education authority. Pastoral care, inclusion, intervention programmes and the medical service each have a page of their own.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country