Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

School of Research Science

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 1998 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
70.5#95 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The School of Research Science opened in 1998 in the Al Warqa district of Dubai and began as a school for the children of Emirati families; today it is a large international school that states more than 4,300 pupils and over 400 teachers. It runs two programmes at once. The main one is the National Curriculum of England from the Foundation Stage to A Level: FS1 from the age of three, primary school from five, IGCSE at 14 to 16, and AS and A Level in the senior years. The second is SRS US High School, an American high school following Massachusetts state standards, the Common Core and the Next Generation Science Standards, with Advanced Placement courses approved by the College Board. On top of both programmes the school teaches Arabic and Islamic studies, and it is this part that parents praise most often. The school calls itself one of only three schools in the MENA region to hold the BSO Gold Award and belongs to the association of British schools in the Middle East. Mobile phones are banned outright: they may not be brought in at all, and on a second breach the device is kept by the school until the end of the academic year.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $10 119–21 726 a year
37 163–79 790 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel · AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
About the fees The annual fee depends on the stage: 37,163 dirhams for FS1, 39,597 for FS2, 41,040 for Years 1-2, 45,699 for Years 3-5, 50,450 for Year 6, 55,199 for Year 7, 60,168 for Years 8-10, 63,765 for Year 11, 70,039 for Year 12 and 79,790 for Year 13. On top of the fee come books - from 1,200 to 2,900 dirhams depending on the stage - and technology, from 500 to 800 dirhams. The entrance assessment costs 300 dirhams.
Admissions At the Foundation Stage a place is offered on application and a play-based assessment. From Year 1 to Year 10 the decision rests on the most recent report from the previous school and entrance assessments in English and mathematics. The year group is set by age on 31 December: FS1 is three, FS2 four, Years 1 to 6 are ages 5 to 10, Years 7 to 11 ages 11 to 16, and Years 12 and 13 ages 17 to 18. Documents are required under the rules of the Dubai education authority and the ministry of education; official registration needs an attested transfer certificate, and the attestation route depends on whether the child comes from Dubai, from another emirate or from another country.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 13, up to age 18; the American high school runs Grades 9-12. The stages of the British programme run straight through: FS1 and FS2 are the Foundation Stage, Years 1 to 6 are primary, Years 7 to 11 are secondary with IGCSE examinations, and Years 12 and 13 are AS and A Level. The American line runs separately: SRS US High School takes pupils from Grade 9 to Grade 12.
Address Nouakchott Street, Al Warqa, next to Mushrif Park

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeCIS · membershipCOBIS · membershipBSO · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A campus of its own in the Al Warqa district next to Mushrif Park; the school describes it as modern and built for twenty-first century learning. Meals run through the school's own Foody Park service, and buses are sold as a separate service with registration for a route.
Source: srsdubai.ae

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school states more than 400 teachers and says the British programme is taught by teachers who have worked to it before. It does not publish qualifications by name, the pupil-teacher ratio or class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has appointed a member of its welfare service, the Welfare Officer, as the nominated child protection officer: pupils who have met abuse, or who fear for another pupil, go to that person. All staff must report signs of abuse or neglect at once, through the social worker to the principal, and the principal circulates the reporting procedure to staff every year. Bullying is banned outright, cyber-bullying included: every case is investigated by the pastoral team, and a victim may go to a teacher, a counsellor or the head of the school stage. Health and safety rest with a committee led by the principal. There is an inclusion service - a head of inclusion, a coordinator for pupils of determination, SEND teachers and learning support assistants, and individual education plans.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
90
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
58
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Star International School, MirdifDubai · 70.5The International School of Creative Science, Nad Al ShebaDubai · 70.4GEMS Cambridge International School - Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 70.6GEMS Our Own English High School - Al AinAl Ain · 70.4