← Back to homeGEMS Our Own English High School - Al Ain

Al Ain, UAE · est. 1992 · Private
Illustration · Al Ain
GEMS Our Own English High School - Al Ain has worked since 1992 in Al Manazir and runs two curricula under one roof: the Indian CBSE and the Cambridge CIE. The difference shows even in the calendar: the CBSE year runs from April to March and the CIE year from September to June. The Cambridge line starts in grade 5 and goes up to AS in grade 11 and A level in grade 12; the Indian line runs from kindergarten to grade 12 with a choice between the science and commerce streams in the senior grades. The head of school is Jaya Menezes. A year in the CBSE kindergarten costs 8,550 dirhams. The campus is named facility by facility: an open-shelf library with subscriptions to newspapers and international magazines, a 600-seat auditorium with multimedia, four laboratories - physics, chemistry, biology and general science - well-equipped ICT laboratories with computing taught from grade 1, a canteen and a modern health centre with a full-time nurse. The school has an Optimus wellbeing award with a page of its own and an Inclusion Team. What a parent needs to know: books, buses and uniforms are outsourced - to Goyal V General Trading, Bright Bus Transport and Threads - and charged separately, while CBSE and Cambridge examination fees come on top of tuition.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $2 328–4 713 a year
8 550–17 310 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
About the fees There are two fee tables. The Indian CBSE line, 2026-2027, April to March (AED a year in tuition): KG1 and KG2 - 8,550, Grades 1 and 2 - 9,570, Grades 3 and 4 - 10,800, Grades 5 and 6 - 12,470, Grades 7 and 8 - 14,000, Grade 9 - 15,390, Grade 10 - 15,300, Grades 11 and 12 (science and commerce) - 16,820. The Cambridge CIE line, 2025-2026, September to June: Grades 5 and 6 - 12,820, Grades 7 and 8 - 14,390, Grade 9 - 15,830, Grade 10 - 15,730, Grade 11 (AS) and Grade 12 (A level) - 17,310. On top of the fee: books from 326 to 2,362 AED depending on grade and line, buses 3,000 AED and uniform from 389 to 550 AED. CBSE examinations cost 750 AED in Grade 10 and 825 in Grade 12; Cambridge examinations cost 900 AED per subject in Grade 10, 1,200 in Grade 11 and 1,300 in Grade 12. The annual fee is collected in ten instalments, with none in July and August. On a new admission a fee equal to 5 per cent of the annual tuition is due: non-refundable and non-transferable, but set against the first term's fee.
Stages and year groups Grades KG1 - Grade 12. Four parts: kindergarten, primary school, CBSE secondary school and CAIE secondary school. The Cambridge line starts in grade 5, with AS in grade 11 and A level in grade 12; the Indian line splits into science and commerce streams in the senior grades. The academic year differs between the lines: CBSE runs April to March and CIE September to June.
Address Al Manazir
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeGEMS · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →GEMSschool network
GEMS Education is a private school group that describes itself on its own site as one of the oldest and largest K-12 (to Grade 12 / Year 13) private education providers in the world. The site dates its start to 1959 («Our story began in 1959«, «65+ Years of Legacy«), while another page on the same site says «over 60 Years of Legacy«. School counts on the site disagree: the homepage says both «52 schools across the UAE, Qatar and Egypt« and «Choose from our list of over 47 schools«, while the Our Company page says GEMS has schools «in the Middle East, North Africa, Asia, Europe and North America«. Students: «200,000 students from over 176 countries« (Our Company) and «over 200,000« (homepage). On ownership the site is explicit: «GEMS Education own, operate and manage schools globally« — it both owns and manages, but does not say which schools fall into which category.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: An open-shelf library with an extensive index of titles across subjects and subscriptions to newspapers and international magazines. A 600-seat auditorium with multimedia facilities. Four laboratories - physics, chemistry, biology and general science - equipped for the senior stages. Well-equipped ICT laboratories with up-to-date computers: computing is taught from grade 1. A canteen with healthy snacks and drinks at affordable prices. A modern health centre with a full-time nurse. Books and uniforms are sold at the Threads store in Al Ain Mall.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A modern health centre with a full-time nurse. The school has a separate page for its Optimus wellbeing award and an Inclusion Team.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country