Home · Portugal · Carcavelos
← Back to home

St. Julian's School

Португалия Carcavelos, Portugal · est. 1932 · Private
Illustration · Carcavelos
75.8#3 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A British school in Carcavelos, opened on 24 November 1932 by Mrs Bucknall OBE, Mrs Franklin CBE, Mr Etherington-Smith and the British Ambassador to Portugal, Sir Claud Russell. It stands on the Quinta Nova estate, whose palace and gardens were built in 1750. The school has four sections: Pre-Prep for ages 3-4, Prep for 5-10, Secondary for 11-18 and the Bilingual section for 6-14. Lessons run in two languages, and the sections show it: the English section teaches the National Curriculum for England from age 3, ending in GCSE in Year 11 and the IB Diploma or the IB Career-related Programme in Years 12 and 13; the Bilingual section teaches the Portuguese National Curriculum from 1º to 9º ano in both Portuguese and English, with art, music and physical education taught in both. Portuguese is compulsory as a subject up to Year 9. In the IB the school offers literature and language in English and Portuguese, Spanish and Chinese, and as a second language English, French, Portuguese, Spanish and German. Over 60 nationalities are enrolled, Portuguese pupils just over half, with large British, American, Brazilian and Chinese groups. The school states it is not academically selective. It has offered the IB Diploma since 1986, the first in Portugal; CIS and NEASC accreditation has been held since 1998, most recently reconfirmed in January 2026; it was the first school in Portugal to become an accredited member of COBIS; the Portuguese Ministry of Education authorises it to deliver the national curriculum for the 1º, 2º and 3º cycles. The IB Career-related Programme was authorised in April 2025. Around 85-90 clubs and activities run each term.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP, CP · Cambridge · IGCSE
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Portuguese
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish, Chinese
School website
Class size
no more than 15 in Nursery, 18 in Reception, up to 22 from Year 1 pupil
Admissions The school takes children from age 3 and keeps both programmes open to Portuguese and international families: over 60 nationalities are enrolled, Portuguese pupils just over half, alongside large British, American, Brazilian and Chinese groups. The school is not academically selective. The age cut-off for the English programmes is 31 August and for the Bilingual programme 31 December. Classes are capped: no more than 15 children in Nursery, 18 in Reception, and no more than 22 from Year 1 upwards.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery, Reception, Year 1 - Year 13, 1º ano - 9º ano. Pre-Prep is ages 3-4, Prep 5-10, Secondary 11-18, and the Bilingual section 6-14, covering 1º to 9º ano in the Portuguese system. After 9º ano bilingual pupils move to a one-year British programme and sit IGCSEs, then enter the IB Diploma or the IB Career-related Programme in Years 12 and 13. Just under 200 pupils are in the two-year IB programme.
Address Quinta Nova, Av. Jorge V 374, 2775-588 Carcavelos

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP, CP · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationCOBIS · accreditationCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeNEASC · accreditation
The school names NEASC alongside CIS among its accreditations. The school is not in the official NEASC registry: the Portuguese list was swept in full on 27.09.2026 and agreed with the registry's own counter. The record therefore stands on the school's own word and does not count towards the score.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges

An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.

What this status would mean. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The school is not in the organisation's register: the status comes from the school's own words.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
33.4 (world average 30.88)
Passed IB
97%
A* and A at IGCSE
89%
A* and A grades
44%
Exam results School year 2022-2023: the IB Diploma average was 33.4 with a 97 percent pass rate, top results of 44, 41, 41 and 40 points, 12 percent of pupils above 40 points and 78 percent above the world average of 30.2. At IGCSE 89 percent of candidates and 91 percent of examinations reached A*-C, and 44 percent of examinations reached A*-A. In the 9º ano national examinations the average was 4 in both Portuguese and mathematics: the top mark of 5 went to 13 pupils in Portuguese and 99 in mathematics.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The campus sits on the Quinta Nova estate: a palace built in 1750, gardens, sports grounds and woodland. There is a canteen serving hot and cold lunches and a cafe for older pupils, and a door-to-door school bus. The Quinta Nova estate: a palace built in 1750, gardens, sports grounds and woodland.
Clubs and activities: Football · Basketball · Volleyball · Rugby · Cricket · Capoeira · Sailing · Skateboarding · Surfing · Choir · Jazz band · Orchestra · Drama · Dance · Model United Nations · Robotics · Programming · Mathematics · Inventors' club · Artificial intelligence · Mandarin · Chess · Eco-School · CAS

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
A class teacher in the Primary school and a tutor in the Secondary school meet pupils daily and are responsible for both academic progress and wellbeing; above them are Heads of Year and a Deputy Head for pastoral care.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a full child protection policy aligned with UK and Portuguese requirements. Background checks cover all staff, volunteers, members of the Board of Governors and the Parents Association and outsourced personnel; security procedures are reviewed regularly. A Deputy Head for pastoral care is responsible for overall child welfare.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
87
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
70
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

CLIP - Oporto International SchoolPorto · 75.7Colégio Santiago InternacionalTavira · 75.5Colégio Internacional de VilamouraVilamoura · 76.1Carlucci American International School of LisbonSintra · 75.3