Ranking · Germany · Berlin
← Back to the ranking

Svenska Skolan i Berlin

Germany Berlin, Germany · est. 1906 · Private
Illustration · Berlin
68.7#100 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Svenska Skolan i Berlin is a private Swedish full-day primary school in the Wilmersdorf district of Berlin and one of the oldest Swedish schools abroad: it was founded by the Swedish church parish Svenska Victoriaförsamlingen in autumn 1906, lessons began in February 1907, and since 1908 the school has received Swedish state funding. Today it is an independent school renting its premises from the parish. About 40 children aged 6 to 12 attend, in small mixed-age classes: the preschool class (förskoleklass) and grades 1-6, in three groups (preschool class and grade 1, grades 2-3, grades 4-6). The school follows the Swedish curriculum Lgr22 for primary school, the preschool class and after-school care, and the Swedish school calendar, and also takes the Berlin primary curriculum into account. Lessons are taught in Swedish; children with Norwegian as their mother tongue are taught in Norwegian following the Norwegian curriculum. From the preschool class all pupils learn German and English. The teachers come from Sweden and Norway. After lessons, after-school care runs until 17:00 with choir, German and homework help. Besides the day school, the same building hosts supplementary Swedish classes for children aged 4 to 19 who attend German or English schools, and Swedish courses for adults; for older pupils the school offers distance learning with Swedish partner schools, supervised by its own teacher.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $5 423 a year
480 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Swedish programme
Admits from
6 years
Languages of instruction
Swedish
Languages taught
German, English
Students
about 40
Class size
small mixed-age classes; Norwegian groups usually have no more than five pupils
About the fees Fees for the 2025-2026 school year, per child per month, paid over 10 months a year. For families whose child receives no Swedish, Norwegian or Finnish state grant, the maximum fee is 480 euros per month (4800 euros per year); with a household income of 30001-50000 euros a year it is 410 euros, up to 30000 euros 220 euros. For children with a grant from Skolverket, the Norwegian Utdanningsdirektoratet or the Finnish Opetushallitus, the fee is at most 330 euros per month (3300 euros per year); with an income of 30001-50000 euros 250 euros, up to 30000 euros 120 euros. Siblings pay half. If the fee is paid by a company, authority, municipality or organisation, it is 6900 euros per child per year, with no sibling discount. For a spring-term start no income reduction applies.
Admissions The school admits only children who understand Swedish or Norwegian: all pupils must be able to follow lessons in Swedish, and children with Norwegian as their mother tongue in Norwegian. Citizenship is not named as a condition; admission gives priority to three groups: children who will return to school in Sweden or Norway; children with a Nordic mother tongue living abroad long term who want to keep it; and children with a Nordic mother tongue who want to deepen their knowledge of Nordic languages and culture. Applicants are usually families who speak Swedish or Norwegian at home, both those in Berlin for a short time and those who have lived here for many years. Applications are made on the school form; because enrolment is growing, the school advises applying early. Pupils can start in the spring term, but then no fee reduction applies for that term. The head decides on admitting a child with special needs according to the resources of the small school; children who need a special school are not admitted. The school receives Swedish state funding only for Swedish, Norwegian and Finnish pupils; other families pay the full rate.
Stages and year groups Grades F, 1-6. Preschool class (förskoleklass, from age 6) and grades 1-6 of Swedish primary school (grundskola), in mixed-age groups: preschool class and grade 1, grades 2-3, grades 4-6. The school follows the Swedish curriculum Lgr22 for primary school, the preschool class and after-school care (fritidshem), the Swedish school year and the Swedish ordinance on schools abroad, and takes the Berlin primary curriculum into account. Norwegian as a mother tongue is taught following the Norwegian curriculum if at least 4 pupils enrol, in groups usually of no more than five children. The school awards no leaving certificates: schooling ends with grade 6. For grades 7-9 and upper secondary the school offers distance learning: the pupil is enrolled at Sofia Skola in Stockholm (grades 7-9) or Hermods Distansgymnasium (upper secondary), and a teacher of the school supervises them in Berlin. The school does not offer IB, Cambridge or the Abitur.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Skolverket
The Swedish National Agency for Education (Skolverket) grants the school a state subsidy as a Swedish school abroad: it follows the Swedish Lgr22 curriculum in the preschool class and Years 1-6.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

SkolverketSwedish National Agency for Education (Skolverket)

A Swedish school abroad: the full-day Swedish curriculum, a state grant from Skolverket and checks by the Swedish Schools Inspectorate.

What the badge means for this school. This is a Swedish school abroad: it teaches the full-day Swedish curriculum, and Skolverket gives it a state grant - this can be seen in its grant decisions. The entry is not a quality inspection. The curriculum and the qualifications are Swedish. Whom the school admits and what it charges are on its own website. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Swedish programme

The Swedish school curriculum taught in Swedish: förskoleklass, the compulsory grundskola under the Lgr22 curriculum and, at some schools, the upper-secondary gymnasieskola leading to the Swedish gymnasieexamen.

What this means for this school. The curriculum is set by the Swedish state: the school follows the Swedish curriculum, receives state funding through Skolverket and is checked by the Swedish Schools Inspectorate. A child who returns to Sweden carries on without switching from another system.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: The school occupies a building on the Swedish church grounds on Landhausstraße, built by the church in 1999: five classrooms and a modern, well-equipped gym. The large schoolyard with a climbing frame, football, handball and basketball courts, a table tennis table, a sandpit and swings is upgraded every year. Wilmersdorfer Volkspark is nearby and used for lessons and play; in summer pupils swim in one of Berlin's lakes, and they often visit museums, galleries, theatres and concert halls. Pupils borrow books, audiobooks and films from a Swedish library for children and adults. The Swedish parish kindergarten is in the same building. Lessons run from 08:30 to 14:20, then after-school care (fritids) runs until 17:00; school lunch is paid. It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Kör (choir) · Läxläsning (homework help) · Tyska (German in after-school care) · Utelek och pyssel (outdoor play and crafts)

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: teachers from Sweden and Norway; a Swedish teaching licence for the preschool class and grades 1-6 is required for hiring
The teachers come from Sweden and Norway. The website names the head and six staff with their subjects: teachers of Swedish, social studies, mathematics, science, German, English and PE, and an after-school care teacher; each of the three groups has its own class mentor. In its job listings the school seeks teachers with a Swedish teaching licence for the preschool class and grades 1-6. The school does not give the total number of teachers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The annual plan against discrimination and degrading treatment (for the 2024-2025 school year) declares zero tolerance of bullying between pupils and by adults; staff must report every case to the head, who investigates and acts, the safety group (Trygghetsgruppen) handles cases first, and there is a five-step scale of consequences for breaking class rules. Adults supervise breaks. The website offers complaint and bullying report forms, a special support policy and a consent form for doctor visits; the school runs safety surveys among pupils and parents.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
86
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

SIS Swiss International School FriedrichshafenFriedrichshafen · 68.7Leibniz-Gymnasium Dortmund International SchoolDortmund · 68.8SIS Swiss International School BerlinBerlin · 68.8École de Gaulle-AdenauerBonn · 68.6