← Back to the rankingVI Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Adama Mickiewicza w Krakowie

Krakow, Poland · est. 1902 · State
Illustration · Krakow
VI Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Adama Mickiewicza is a state (samorządowy) general secondary school in central Kraków and one of the oldest in the city: founded in 1902, it has been at ul. Wąska 7 since 1992. The school has long specialised in foreign languages and runs several tracks. The international classes (oddziały międzynarodowe) last four years: in grades 1-2 students follow the Polish curriculum bilingually in Polish and English as preparation for the IB, and in grades 3-4 they take the IB Diploma Programme in English; the school gained IB authorisation in June 2021 and calls itself the only samorządowa school in Kraków offering it. The bilingual classes with English offer advanced English (6 hours a week) and some subjects in English, such as European and world history. The Spanish bilingual section exists under an agreement between the Polish and Spanish education ministries of 7 May 1997: a preparatory year (klasa wstępna) followed by four years with subjects in Polish and Spanish, taught partly by native speakers; the Polish matura is compulsory and exams in subjects taught in Spanish are optional. There are also classes with extended science and history. The languages of instruction are Polish, English (bilingual and international classes) and Spanish (Spanish section). German, French, Italian and Russian are also taught as subjects; the school prepares students for the DSD II, DELF and DALF, DELE and the Spanish Selectividad.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Polish, English, Spanish
Languages taught
German, French, Italian, Russian
Class size
groups in the last two years of the school have 6 to 20 students
About the fees Tuition is free: this is a state (samorządowy) secondary school. IB DP students pay for IB textbooks (about 300 PLN per book, 5-10 books over two years) and a graphing calculator, the IB exam fee (552 EUR for the May 2026 session) and 4000 PLN for running the programme to the foundation that supports it (from the 2025-2026 school year, in three instalments: 1500, 1500 and 1000 PLN).
Admissions Admission to grade 1 is through the city's general electronic admission to state secondary schools (the Omikron system), based on points for the egzamin ósmoklasisty and grades, on the dates set by the Małopolski Kurator Oświaty. Candidates for the international and bilingual English classes must take the school's English language competency test (120 minutes for the international classes, 90 minutes of which are shared with bilingual candidates); only winners and finalists of English olympiads and competitions are exempt, language certificates do not exempt. Entry to the IB DP in grade 3 is open to international class students with at least a 4 in English and in their higher level subjects and at least a 3 in standard level subjects; free places may be sought by students of the school's bilingual and general classes, then by students of other schools, including schools abroad, through an interview in English and a written test. For the 2026-2027 school year the school announced 5 free places in grade 3 of the IB. The Spanish section starts with a preparatory year.
Stages and year groups Liceum ogólnokształcące, 4 years, Polish national curriculum (podstawa programowa) with the matura. Tracks: international classes (oddziały międzynarodowe) - grades 1-2 bilingual under the Polish curriculum as preparation (Pre-DP), grades 3-4 IB Diploma Programme in English with the IB diploma, which Polish law treats as equal to the matura; IB subjects: Polish A Literature, English B HL, History, Geography, Global Politics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics AA and AI, Visual Arts, German B SL, Spanish B SL, French B SL, plus TOK, CAS and the Extended Essay. Bilingual classes with English (English matura at bilingual level). Spanish bilingual section: klasa wstępna plus 4 years, Polish matura and optional bilingual matura in Spanish and subjects taught in Spanish. Classes with extended science and history. DSD II German groups.
Address ul. Wąska 7, 31-057 Kraków
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmePASCH · takes part in the programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track runs in the international classes of a Polish liceum: the Diploma in grades 3-4, alongside the Polish curriculum leading to the matura. The liceum also has a Spanish bilingual section (Sección Bilingüe) listed by the Spanish education ministry. The school is part of the PASCH network.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →PASCHSchools: Partners for the Future, an initiative of the German foreign ministry
More than two thousand schools in about 120 countries. A school cannot apply for itself: participants are chosen by German agencies in agreement with the embassy. Very different schools sit under one mark - full German schools abroad, and ordinary national schools that simply teach German well.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to a German support programme. By itself the mark means neither a German curriculum nor the right to award a German certificate: of the two thousand PASCH schools, about seventeen hundred hold no such right. Look for a ZfA status next to it - that is the one that is about this. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Since 1992 the school has occupied the building at ul. Wąska 7 in the historic centre of Kraków. It has a library that runs a reading aloud competition, a choir, a theatre company, a music group, a photo and film group and sports sections. The school runs international exchanges with schools in Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Denmark and Belgium, language trips, science camps in Poland and subject excursions, and works with Kraków universities: AGH, UJ, the University of Economics, UKEN and the Polish Academy of Sciences.
Clubs and activities: Proscenium Theatre · Spanish Theatre · VI LO Mixed Choir · Music Group · VILO Photo and Film Group · Oxford Debates · Volunteering · Chess · Table Tennis · Athletics · Badminton · Swimming · Skiing · Snowboarding · School Sports Club
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school publishes a list of teachers by name and subject: Polish, English, Spanish (including teachers with Spanish names), German, French, Italian, sciences, history, mathematics, computer science and others; most hold master's degrees, several hold doctorates, and the head has a doctorate. There is an IB DP coordinator (a deputy head).
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has two school counsellors, a psychologist and a special needs teacher, with their hours published on the website. It publishes child protection standards, procedures for internal and external threats and online safety materials, plus a list of helplines and support institutions.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country