← Back to homeWesgreen International School - Sharjah

Sharjah, UAE · est. 1991 · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
Wesgreen International School - Sharjah has run since 1991 in the Muwailah Commercial district and belongs to GEMS. The school is divided into four parts: early years from FS1 to Year 1, the primary school in Years 2 to 6, the secondary school in Years 7 to 13 with separate boys' and girls' sections, and the administration. The curriculum blends the British EYFS, the National Curriculum for England and the Cambridge programmes, and from Year 7 the school moves wholly onto the Cambridge path: Cambridge Secondary 1 in Years 7 to 9 as preparation for the IGCSE, the two-year IGCSE programme in Years 10 and 11 with nineteen subjects to choose from - and in mathematics, English and the sciences the school is following the Pearson Edexcel version this year - and then AS and A level. The teaching staff come from more than thirty-seven countries. The school has four campuses, each with its own clinic: two full-time doctors and two nurses for the school as a whole, with a separate counselling service. Of its teaching facilities the school names four modern computer rooms with internet access, fully equipped physics, chemistry and biology laboratories, libraries and e-libraries, multimedia halls and art rooms; there is a pool of its own and a canteen run by a contractor. Sport and the extracurricular side are unexpectedly broad for an Emirati school: football and swimming teams at under-10, 12, 14 and 16, gymnastics for boys and girls, an athletics club, and beyond them scuba diving, equestrian sport and a forest-and-farm programme. Clubs start in the second week of term and end at 15:30, the 'little leagues' at 16:00; some clubs are paid for. Secondary clubs are run by the pupils themselves: senior pupils own the club, lead the sessions and organise events for their peers, and the school says plainly that this looks good on a university application; the journalism club and the drama club are named. Beyond the clubs there is the Duke of Edinburgh's Award, Model United Nations and a student business leadership forum. Tuition runs from 23,545 dirhams a year in FS1 to 52,180 in the final year.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $6 411–14 208 a year
23 545–52 180 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees The annual fee: FS1, FS2 and Year 1 at 23,545 dirhams, Years 2 and 3 at 28,000, Year 4 28,025, Year 5 30,500, Year 6 30,650, Year 7 30,705, Years 8 and 9 at 34,735, Year 10 38,250, Year 11 41,465, Year 12 46,540 and Year 13 52,180. It is paid in three parts: 40 per cent, then 30 and 30. The 1,000-dirham new admission fee is adjustable against the tuition. Paying the year in advance with the FAB GEMS card earns a discount of up to three per cent.
Admissions The admissions procedure is set out on the Admissions Overview page, the application is made online, and there is a virtual admissions centre and school tour booking. The fee for a new admission is 1,000 dirhams and it is adjustable against the tuition fee.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 13. The school is divided into four sections: Early Years from FS1 to Year 1, the primary school Years 2 to 6, the secondary school Years 7 to 13 with separate boys' and girls' sections, and the administration. The Cambridge pathway starts at Year 7: Cambridge Secondary 1 in Years 7 to 9, a two-year IGCSE in Years 10 and 11 with nineteen subjects, then AS and A level.
Address Muwailah Commercial
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationGEMS · school is part of the networkThe Cambridge registration is taken from the registry, and the school sets it out stage by stage: Cambridge Secondary 1 in Years 7 to 9, then the Cambridge IGCSE, AS and A level from Year 10 to Year 13. AN IMPORTANT CAVEAT: on its page about itself the school states that it is accredited by the Council of International Schools - that is CIS, an institutional accreditation that does clear the threshold in our rating - but that entry does not appear in our registry sweeps for the UAE, and it is not entered in the card. It needs a separate check against the CIS registry. Beyond that the school names British Schools Overseas accreditation from the UK Department for Education, membership of British Schools in the Middle East, membership of the Association of British Schools Overseas, founding membership of the British International Schools Safeguarding Coalition, and a licence for the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award. Neither BSME, nor AoBSO, nor BISSC is in our directory of organisations, and we have not checked BSO for the UAE.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East
One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →GEMSschool network
GEMS Education is a private school group that describes itself on its own site as one of the oldest and largest K-12 (to Grade 12 / Year 13) private education providers in the world. The site dates its start to 1959 («Our story began in 1959«, «65+ Years of Legacy«), while another page on the same site says «over 60 Years of Legacy«. School counts on the site disagree: the homepage says both «52 schools across the UAE, Qatar and Egypt« and «Choose from our list of over 47 schools«, while the Our Company page says GEMS has schools «in the Middle East, North Africa, Asia, Europe and North America«. Students: «200,000 students from over 176 countries« (Our Company) and «over 200,000« (homepage). On ownership the site is explicit: «GEMS Education own, operate and manage schools globally« — it both owns and manages, but does not say which schools fall into which category.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: The campus is in Muwailah Commercial. Four modern computer rooms with internet access, fully equipped physics, chemistry and biology laboratories where pupils run experiments under a teacher's eye, libraries and e-libraries, multimedia halls and art rooms. The canteen is run by a contractor. On the sports side there is a pool of the school's own - it fields swimming teams at four age levels - and, named separately, scuba diving, equestrian sport and a forest-and-farm programme.
Clubs and activities: Journalism · Drama club · Swimming · Diving · Equestrian · Model United Nations · Duke of Edinburgh's Award · Football · Gymnastics · Athletics · Basketball
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Safeguarding is set apart on a page of its own with a published team of its own. The designated safeguarding lead is named: Janet Foley, the executive vice-principal of the whole school, supported by a team of fully trained deputies working with staff at every stage; above them sits the central GEMS safeguarding team, reporting to the GEMS vice-president for risk. The school is a member of the Association of British Schools Overseas and a founding member of the British International Schools Safeguarding Coalition, and it declares its policies to meet the highest international safeguarding standards. The medical side is its own too: each of the four campuses has a ground-floor clinic, with two full-time doctors and two nurses across the campuses, and a separate Counselling Department that the school calls an integral part of its work.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country