The school opened in the 2000-2001 academic year: its first ceremony brought together the foundation trustees, parents and fifty-seven children from kindergarten, first and second grades. It stands on the tradition of Turkey's German high school alumni, since its founder, the Alman Liseliler Kültür ve Eğitim Vakfı, is their foundation, and the school keeps ties with the German embassy and the consulate general in Istanbul. Among German schools abroad it belongs to the language diploma class, the DSD school: German is taught here as a subject and the school does not lead to a German school leaving certificate. The Büyükçekmece site covers thirty dönüm amid nature, was built to German norms on a steel frame following soil survey work, and holds separate buildings for the kindergarten, primary school, middle school and high school.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Turkish
Languages taught
German, English
Admissions Entry to the high school and the science high school goes by the MSP central examination score within a set intake, on the same terms as state schools except for the catchment requirement. Where scores are equal the younger candidate has priority. The school publishes a pre-registration form, a guide to merit scholarships, the documents needed for final enrolment, the enrolment calendar and figures on intake and cut-off scores.
Stages and year groups Every stage sits on one site: kindergarten, primary school, middle school and high school, with the high school split in two, Anadolu Lisesi and Fen Lisesi, each with its own admission terms.
Address Alkent 2000 Mah. Mehmet Yeşilgül Cad. No: 7, Büyükçekmece, İstanbul
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeWDA · part of the allianceThe school is listed in the IB registry, with a single stage: the Diploma Programme. That diploma is a particular one, since the school runs it in the bilingual GIB form, Gemischtsprachiges Internationales Baccalaureate, with part of the subjects taught in German. Separately from IB the school holds the German language diploma DSD, Deutsches Sprachdiplom, and belongs to the WDA association of German schools abroad. The Cambridge examinations its site describes are the language certificates KET, PET and FCE from Cambridge UCLES, that is the Cambridge language line rather than the Cambridge school curriculum. The school does not publish its IB code.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →WDAWorld Association of German Schools Abroad
An association of the owners of German schools abroad: in essence an industry lobby and a service organisation. It runs no inspections. The condition of admission is a recognised German certificate, but that recognition is granted by the German state, not by WDA.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to an association of school owners. There is no inspection of its own behind it: the badge rests on a decision of the German state and adds nothing to it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: Thirty dönüm in Büyükçekmece: 12,000 square metres under roof and 18,000 square metres of green space, away from city traffic. The kindergarten, the primary and middle schools, and the high school each have their own building. The site carries the school's own sections on the primary and secondary libraries, catering, the health service and school transport.
Teaching staff
There is no data for this section yet.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median65 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country