Home · Argentina · City Bell
← Back to home

Colegio Patris

Аргентина City Bell, Argentina · est. 1998 · Private
Illustration · City Bell
73.2#7 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A bilingual school in City Bell near La Plata, working since 1998: it was conceived by the Giorgieri family - Juan Carlos, a doctor of law and a university lecturer, his mother, the teacher Maria Natividad Garcia de Giorgieri, and two brothers - and the association was named after the German priest Josef Kentenich, founder of the Schoenstatt movement. The school stands on a site of seven hectares of greenery, with its own multi-purpose hall under a roof marked out for volleyball, handball, futsal and basketball and with a raised theatre stage, two full-size football pitches - one of which also serves for hockey - a running track of Olympic dimensions and a covered hall of one thousand three hundred square metres. Pupils are taken from the age of two up to the sixth year of secondary school, the day is a full one from 8:30 to 16:30, and the school splits each year group into two and calls places limited. English runs through compulsory Cambridge examinations: seven IGCSEs in the fourth year of secondary school - English as a First Language, Spanish, mathematics, history, chemistry, biology and Global Perspectives - and AS/A Levels in the fifth and sixth, with tutorial hours inside the ordinary timetable. Portuguese begins in the first year of secondary school and ends with an examination in the sixth. The school does not name its tuition fees or its charges on the site.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
School website
About the fees The school does not publish its tuition fees: there is no section on fees on any of the site's nine pages, and the words "arancel", "cuota" and "matricula" do not occur on the site at all. The only money matter the school offers to settle at a meeting is the admission interview itself.
Admissions Admission starts with an interview, and the school takes requests for it through a form on the site: "Solicita tu entrevista de Admision", with a separate note for families with several children - "En caso de que desees una entrevista para mas de un hijo/a completa el formulario con los datos de solo uno de ellos". The school calls places limited: "Cupos limitados - El colegio organiza los cursos en dos grupos, permitiendo un seguimiento detallado de sus trayectorias de aprendizaje".
Stages and year groups Grades Sala de 2 años - 6º año del Secundario. Entry to the kindergarten is from the age of two: "Se comienza en sala de dos anos con una inmersion en la lengua inglesa que los acompana durante todo el ciclo Inicial" and "Desde la mas tierna infancia en la sala de 2 anos". The school has run the kindergarten since 1998 and describes the three-, four- and five-year-old rooms: "Desde 1998 el Jardin de Infantes Patris lleva a cabo un programa de ensenanza integral bilingue donde nuestros alumnos de 3, 4 y 5 anos construyen sus aprendizajes". Primary and secondary follow in the same instituti: "los alumnos que egresan del nivel primario se encuentran capacitados linguisticamente para poder abordar sin dificultad, una vez iniciado el nivel secundario en la misma institucion". The top of the secondary school is the sixth year: Portuguese "concluyendo en 6to ano con su examen de validez internacional", and the AS/A Levels run "Durante 5o y 6o ano de nivel secundario". The day is a full one: "En una jornada completa de 8:30 a 16:30 el colegio organiza su nutrida propuesta pedagogica".
Address 146 E/446 y Arroyo Carnaval, B1896 City Bell, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school publishes its pupils' Cambridge awards by name under the heading Outstanding Cambridge Assessment - ESSARP Learner Awards: best result in the world at AS Level in First Language Spanish, November 2012; best result in Argentina at AS Level in English General Paper, November 2022; best result in Argentina at IGCSE in First Language English, June 2023; and a further ten or so awards for high achievement at AS Level and IGCSE between 2015 and 2022. The school gives no pass rates and no average marks.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
CateringThe dining hall: "El comedor institucional se destaca por sus amplias dimensiones y su diseno arquitectonico contemporaneo. Rodeado integramente de ventanales con vista al campus"
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The school stands on a site of seven hectares of greenery, surrounded by rich planting. The classrooms: a projector, a sound system and a computer, personal lockers for every pupil, air conditioning in all the rooms, wide windows and natural light. There is a covered multi-purpose hall of professional dimensions with courts for volleyball, handball, futsal and basketball, and a modern stage on a podium. What the school does not have: it names neither a library, nor laboratories, nor a swimming pool, nor a medical room on the site.
Clubs and activities: Guitar · Violin · Percussion · Flute · Saxophone · Trumpet · Singing · Vegetable garden · Theatre · Film · Musical · Football · Ice hockey · Volleyball · Handball · Futsal · Basketball · Athletics

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school publishes neither its teaching staff by name, nor their qualifications, nor the number of pupils per teacher; there is no separate page about the teachers on the site. Of the work with them, the tutorial hours in the last two years of secondary school are named: "un sistema de tutorias personalizadas dentro del horario habitual de clases".

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
CounsellorThe school names its support service: "el acompanamiento que realizan los docentes, directivos y Equipo de orientacion y psicopedagogia".
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
72
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Villa Devoto SchoolBuenos Aires · 73.2St. Paul's CollegeHurlingham · 73.2Escuela Normal Superior en Lenguas Vivas «Sofía Esther Broquen de Spangenberg»Buenos Aires · 73.3St. George's College NorthBuenos Aires · 73.3