← Back to homeColegio y Liceo Los Candiles

Paysandú, Uruguay · est. 2010 · Private
Illustration · Paysandú
Colegio y Liceo Los Candiles is a private Catholic school in Paysandú that is open to families of any belief: it grew out of APES, a non-profit association set up in 2007 by a group of married couples from the city. The primary school started work in 2010 with three pupils - the three lamps on the school crest stand for them - and the secondary school opened in 2016; the first generation reached the fourth year of the liceo in 2022. The stages are split between two addresses: primary classes from the first to the sixth occupy the building on Herrera street, and secondary classes from the first to the fourth the building on Ituzaingó. The school has no fifth or sixth year of the liceo, so its pupils do not complete full secondary education here and the school has no list of graduate universities. The school publishes its rules on dealing with pupils in full: on being hired a member of staff brings a CV, a reference check and a certificate of absence from the National Register of Sex Offenders, and signs a document agreeing to the rules. The school does not publish fees, the composition of its teaching staff or a list of activities: the pages for them exist on the site but open empty.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish
About the fees The "COSTOS Y PROCESAMIENTOS DE PAGOS" page exists on the site and opens completely empty: apart from the header and the footer it has no text, no tables and no images with figures. The school names neither a fee for the year, nor a monthly amount, nor any order of payment.
Admissions Admission starts with a request for an interview: separate "SOLICITUD DE ENTREVISTA" forms for the primary and for the secondary stage stand on the site, where the family gives the pupil's name, the names of the mother and the father, a contact telephone number and an email address, and chooses the year it wishes to enter - from Primero to Sexto año for primary, from Primero to Cuarto for secondary. The school calls the entrance interview a compulsory part of admission: "En el proceso de admisión (entrevista de ingreso), se solicitará por escrito el consentimiento de las familias".
Stages and year groups Grades Primaria from Primero to Sexto año and Secundaria from Primero to Cuarto año. There is no fifth or sixth year of the liceo.. The application forms confirm an intake in exactly these years: the primary stage offers six years of schooling, the secondary four. The school writes that "En el año 2022 comenzará la primera generación que hará 4° de liceo en Los Candiles"; it says nothing about plans to open the fifth and sixth year of the liceo.
Address Dr Luis Alberto De Herrera 714, Paysandú
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies two buildings in Paysandú: primary classes since 2015 on Herrera y Colón street, secondary since 2016 on Ituzaingó at the corner of Visconde de Mauá. The school has computer rooms, and off-site lessons and trips with an overnight stay are provided for in its rules. The school gives neither a list nor a description of its own premises: the "Primaria y Secundaria" gallery page opens empty, and the "Candiles 360°" project page contains only an embedded video instead of text. Of its premises the school names only a computer room.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policyThe "INDICACIONES SOBRE EL TRATO CON LOS ALUMNOS, FAMILIAS Y PERSONAL" document is posted on the site in full and names outright three institutions of the association, including Colegio Los Candiles and Liceo Los Candiles. The school takes the family's consent to the use of photographs in writing at the entrance interview. Drugs, alcohol, tobacco and weapons are banned at school events; pupils hand in their telephones at the entrance; in the computer rooms the sites visited are supervised; meetings with families are held in rooms open to outside view, and there is always a member of staff in the school; staff are not allowed personal telephones or messenger correspondence with pupils and parents; on trips the number of accompanying adults follows state norms, and pupils' bedrooms, showers and changing rooms are separated from the teachers'.
✓Staff trainingOn being hired a member of staff brings a CV, a reference check and a certificate of absence from the National Register of Sex Offenders (article 104 of law 19.889), and signs a document as a sign of agreement with its contents.
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median90 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country