Ranking · Vietnam · Ho Chi Minh City
← Back to the ranking

International School Ho Chi Minh City - American Academy

Вьетнам Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam · Private
Illustration · Ho Chi Minh City
74.8#48 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $23 595–29 494 a year
615.2–769 million VND
Programmes
AP
Admits from
11 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Vietnamese, Chinese
School website
Registration fee
≈ $959
25 000 000 VND
Deposit
≈ $863
22 500 000 VND
Stages and year groups Grades Grade 6 - Grade 12
Address 16 Vo Truong Toan Street, An Khanh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · accreditationNEASC · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeCognita · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges

An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

Cognitaschool network

A group of schools launched in 2004; the legal entity in the footer of the site is Cognita Holdings Limited. The site names 90 schools in 21 countries, 14 curricula and more than 22,000 staff, and the numbers agree on all the pages read. The section on a school joining the group speaks of working with the owners of schools and of integrating the school, but does not say outright whether the school passes into ownership; the word "franchise" does not appear on the site. The majority owner of Cognita itself is named as Jacobs Holding AG.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Went on to university
100% выпускников
AP scores of 3 and above
75%

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
Catering
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Clubs and activities (20): list on the school website
Source: aavn.edu.vn

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show:

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

CCTV
Security staff
Access control
Nurse or medical room
Counsellor
Child protection policy
Staff training
Anti-bullying policy

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
63
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
95
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
57
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

True North International SchoolHanoi · 74.8British Vietnamese International School Ho Chi Minh CityHo Chi Minh City · 74.7Singapore International School @ Can ThoKantkho · 74.9Concordia International School HanoiHanoi · 75