Ranking · Turkey · Istanbul
← Back to the ranking

İTÜ Geliştirme Vakfı Okulları Özel Ekrem Elginkan Lisesi

Турция Istanbul, Turkey · Private
Illustration · Istanbul
66.5#135 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The high school carries the name of Ekrem Elginkan and belongs to the schools of the Istanbul Technical University Development Foundation: on the same campus the foundation runs the Dr Sedat Üründül kindergarten and the Dr Natuk Birkan primary and middle school, and it also has schools in Beylerbeyi and in Izmir. The high school stands inside the İTÜ Ayazağa university campus and describes itself as a school that prepares pupils for Turkish and foreign universities alike. Beyond the national curriculum it runs the IB Diploma Programme, the European Language Portfolio, social responsibility projects and science trips, among them a visit by grade 11 to CERN.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $24 858 a year
1.2 million TRY
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages
Turkish, English
School website
About the fees The figure taken here includes tax. The year's fee for a pupil entering the high school now is 1,200,000 lira including value added tax, that is 1,090,909.09 lira without it; the tax rate on tuition and meals is ten per cent. Meals are not part of the high school fee and stand at zero there: lunch is paid separately only at the younger stages. Pupils who entered in earlier years keep the price of their year of entry, and for the intake of four years ago it comes to 559,072.80 lira including tax. Payment can be split: a first instalment of one fifth and eight equal payments through the end of the year, while paying in advance earns discounts of fifteen and ten per cent.
Admissions Entry to the high school is by the national high school entrance examination run by the Turkish Ministry of National Education. For transfers into intermediate years at the other stages the foundation sets its own examination, and for kindergarten and primary school it invites families to an interview.
Stages and year groups The school covers the senior years, grades 9 to 12, and pupils take the IB Diploma Programme in the last two. It prints no figures for year groups or class sizes.
Address İTÜ Ayazağa Yerleşkesi, Maslak, Sarıyer, İstanbul

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB registry at the final stage and runs the IB Diploma Programme. It names the subjects itself: Turkish language and literature in group one, English as a foreign language at higher level in group two, economics, information technology and twentieth century Turkey in the social sciences, biology, chemistry, physics and environmental systems in the sciences, mathematics analysis and approaches at two levels, and visual arts, music and theatre in the arts. The core is described as the 4000 word extended essay, theory of knowledge, and 150 hours of creativity, activity and service over two years. The school does not publish its IB code.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The high school stands inside the İTÜ Ayazağa university campus; its pages name laboratories, a library, music rooms, a robotics laboratory and an auditorium, and it offers a virtual tour of the site.

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%)
no datathe criterion switches on once there is data about the teachers
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
66
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Gökkuşağı Koleji İstanbul Ataşehir KampüsüIstanbul · 66.5Samiha Ayverdi Anadolu LisesiIstanbul · 66.5Keystone International SchoolsIstanbul · 66.5Özel Sezin OkuluIstanbul · 66.5