Ranking · Vietnam · Thanh Hoa
← Back to the ranking

Vinschool Star City

Вьетнам Thanh Hoa, Vietnam · Private
Illustration · Thanh Hoa
67.6#107 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $2 951–9 116 a year
76.9–237.7 million VND
Programmes
Cambridge
Admits from
1 year · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Vietnamese, English
Languages taught
Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, German, Spanish
School website
Class size
30 учеников
Registration fee
≈ $115
3 000 000 VND
Stages and year groups
Address Vinhomes Star City Residence, Hac Thanh Ward

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · membershipCambridge · authorised programmeVinschool · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Vinschoolschool network

Vinschool is the school system of the Vietnamese corporation Vingroup itself, not a franchise and not the brand of an outside operator: the site calls it a not-for-profit all-through system run by the parent company and funded by it. The year of foundation given is 2013. The numbers of campuses and pupils differ across pages and we give all four: the English section about the system gives 43 campuses and 36,000 pupils, a page on the edurun subdomain 54 campuses and nearly 48,000, the Vietnamese home page 56 sites and nearly 50,000, and the English questions and answers section 61 campuses and more than 50,000. The geography according to the site: Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Hai Phong, Thanh Hoa, Hung Yen, Phu Quoc. The stages run from kindergarten to upper secondary school. The programme is built as a combination of the Vietnamese state curriculum and the Cambridge one, and the site calls Vinschool the first school system in the country to receive the ministry's permission for this; rights to the International Preschool Curriculum, IGCSE and AS/A Level subjects and Advanced Placement courses are claimed. There are two tracks: a standard one, where the Cambridge subjects are taught in Vietnamese, and an advanced one, where the specialist subjects are taught in English. CIS accreditation.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
Catering
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus:

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
Nurse or medical room
Counsellor
Child protection policy
Staff training
Anti-bullying policy

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
76
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Truong Trung VuongDongkha · 67.5École française internationale Boule et BillesHo Chi Minh City · 67.4Victoria School - Nam Sai GonHo Chi Minh City · 67.4Odyssey International SchoolDa Nang · 67.8