← Back to homeXV. gimnazija

Zagreb, Croatia · est. 1964 · State
Illustration · Zagreb
XV. gimnazija is a city gimnazija with a science and mathematics focus in Zagreb's Maksimir district, known around the city by its own name, MIOC. It has been running since 1964, when it opened as XV. matematička gimnazija on Sutlanska ulica, and it moved into its present building on Jordanovac in 1976; it now has 1,024 students in forty classes, all taught in a single morning shift. The national programme is taught in Croatian and exists in three variants that differ in the number of mathematics and computing lessons, and alongside it the school runs two International Baccalaureate programmes in English - the final two years of the Middle Years Programme and the Diploma Programme. The diploma has been taught here since 1991, and this was the first school in Croatia to offer secondary education in English. The building holds 6,429 square metres of teaching space, a sports wing of 2,962 metres with a large and a small hall, outdoor grounds of almost 12 thousand metres, four physics, chemistry and biology laboratories, four computer rooms, a student canteen and a library of almost 23 thousand items divided into three spaces for readers. There are more than twenty clubs - a debating club, bridge, go, a film club, a choir, a school band, ceramics, origami, Japanese, first aid and two volunteering clubs - and the CAS groups of the Diploma Programme are added to them. The school publishes no average International Baccalaureate scores, and it shows its graduates' choice of faculties and their results on the state matura only as charts for past years.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 647–9 294 a year
4 000–8 000 EUR
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Croatian, English
Languages taught
German, French
About the fees The fee at this gimnazija is set for the International Baccalaureate programmes, and the school board announces it for each school year. For 2025/2026 the announced figures are 4,000.00 EUR a year for students who are citizens of Croatia and of European Union countries and 8,000.00 EUR for students from outside the European Union, plus a one-off 250.00 EUR fee on first entry to an IB programme. The English-language page on admission to the Diploma Programme names different amounts - 3,800 EUR a year for citizens of Croatia and the European Union and 7,600 EUR for foreign students - and both sets of figures stand on the site at the same time. For the national science and mathematics programme the school sets and names no fee, with one exception: the payment rules extend the fee to students of that programme who are not citizens of European Union countries, and the school does not publish that amount.
Admissions For the first year of the national programme the school takes 224 students, and the threshold for applying is 77 points. Besides the grades for years five to eight and the final grades in Croatian, the first foreign language, mathematics, chemistry, physics and biology, a mathematics examination counts and is worth up to 10 points; English is compulsory as the first foreign language. The IB Middle Years Programme takes 40 students in two classes, the threshold is the same 77 points, and a candidate sits a written examination in English, a written examination in mathematics and an interview. The Diploma Programme requires excellent English: the candidate writes an essay on literature, sits mathematics and English and attends an interview, and attaches to the application the certificates for grades nine and ten and proof of citizenship for themselves and for a parent.
Stages and year groups Grades grades 1-4 of the gimnazija (MYP4-MYP5 and DP1-DP2). A four-year gimnazija. The national programme is the natural sciences and mathematics strand in variants A, B and C, all of 33 lessons a week. The IB programmes are laid over the same four years: Middle Years 4 and 5 in the first two, the diploma programme in the last two; the school does not run the first three years of the Middle Years Programme. In 2025/2026 there are 40 classes, ten in each year of study, and 26 pupils work under an individualised approach.
Address Jordanovac 8, 10000 Zagreb
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A single site on Jordanovac: a school building of 6,429 square metres, a sports building of 2,962 metres with a large and a small hall, and outdoor areas of 11,748 metres. The teaching rooms are 28 ordinary classrooms and six specialised rooms for languages and the IB programmes, four computer rooms, four laboratories for physics, chemistry and biology, a multi-purpose hall and a pupils' canteen. The library is divided into three spaces for readers: the largest holds the reference collection and a computer to work at, the second is a reading room with desks, and the third holds the foreign-language collections and computers for pupils on the IB programmes. As of 31 December 2025 the stock was 22,950 items, of which 9,247 in the IB programme and 13,703 in the natural sciences and mathematics programme; the library is open to readers from 7:45 to 13:45, and longer for IB pupils on book issue days. The building itself was put up in 1973-1976 and holds 39 specialised teaching rooms and 26 subject rooms for teachers.
Clubs and activities (24): Debating club “MIOC” · Go club · Bridge club · Quiz league “MIOC Pub” · The GLOBE programme · Geography and ecology club · Mountaineering club “Hrvatske planine” · Film club · Film group · School newspaper “MIOC Kronike” · “MIOC Fellowship” · Choir · School band “MIOC” · Drama club · Drama club “(Ne) Drami” · Japanese language and culture · Detective club · First aid · “MItolOvaC” club · Ceramics · Origami · “P++” · Volunteer club “Zlatni zmaj” · Volunteers “MIOC Caritas”
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The staff is named in full and laid out by department and service: Croatian, modern and classical languages, mathematics, physics, chemistry and biology, computer science, history, geography, visual and musical art, social subjects, physical education, the library, the organisational and development service, the secretariat with the pupil records office and the accounts office, and the technical service. Each person's position is given. The school does not publish a pupil-teacher ratio. Two school psychologists - Zrinka Pandžić and Sanja Vučetić; three school pedagogues - Snježana Žibert, Jelena Periša and Ivana Vukšić; two librarians, one for the IB programmes and one for the national programme - Tamara Kanjera and Anica Tkalčević
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical roomA school doctor works with the school, together with the pedagogues and psychologists, on pupils' health and prevention
✓CounsellorTwo school psychologists on the staff, named, with work plans in the school's annual programme Three school pedagogues, named, with separate work plans
✓Child protection policyThe school prevention programme: protecting children's safety on the internet and in the world of network technology, with a booklet from the communications regulator, the sessions “Ful nije cool”, “Tko je to u ogledalu?” and “Kako reći ne?”, and a booklet for parents about new drugs
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country