← Back to homeBright Horizons - International British School of Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia · est. 2013 · Private
Illustration · Zagreb
Bright Horizons - International British School of Zagreb grew out of the network of nurseries and preschool groups that the founder's family has kept since 2006: the primary school opened in 2013 at Sveti Duh 122, and in 2024 a secondary stage appeared at Ul. Augusta Harambašića 19. There are more than two hundred pupils and more than thirty nationalities; lessons are in English, while Croatian, German, Spanish and French are taught as subjects. The primary stage joins the British national curriculum to the International Primary Curriculum and Singapore mathematics, the secondary leads to Cambridge IGCSE and A-level, and the Croatian language and the national subjects are compulsory for Croatian pupils. The school has a school counsellor and a psychologist, a set of policies from child protection to online safety is published as documents, and a separate member of the school board answers for child protection. There is no kitchen of its own in the primary building - hot food is delivered every day, and the school gives breakfast, lunch and snacks. The school does not publish examination results, a list of the universities its leavers go to, or its teaching staff.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $11 036–17 426 a year
9 500–15 000 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · IPC
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Croatian, German, Spanish, French
Registration fee
≈ $697
600 EUR
About the fees The fees for 2026/27 are published on the “Fees” page: Years 1-6 - 950 EUR a month or 9,500 EUR a year, Years 7-8 - 1,130 EUR a month or 11,300 a year, the senior school Years 10-13 - 1,500 EUR a month or 15,000 a year. Payment can be made in ten instalments in advance, in the first week of each month, or as a single sum for the year. Cambridge examination fees for Years 11-13 are not included in the fee and are counted separately. The school refunds no fees.
Admissions Admission goes in six steps: approaching the school and arranging a tour, the visit and a meeting, sending a Pupil Reference Form to the child's previous or current school, standardised testing once that form has been agreed, a conversation with the parents about the results, and signing the papers if the assessment is satisfactory. The documents: a copy of the vaccination record, the birth certificate, the identity card or passport of the child and of the parents, the completed enrolment and medical forms, and a paid registration fee. Entry into Year 1 requires a doctor's certificate that the child is ready for school. An application is not considered until all the information has been received and the fees paid. After an infectious illness a child is taken back with a certificate of full recovery.
Stages and year groups Grades Year 1 - Year 13. Two sites: Years 1-6 at Sveti Duh 122, the secondary stage at Ul. Augusta Harambašića 19. IGCSE is taught as a two-year course in Years 10-11; in Year 12 a pupil takes three A-level subjects, in some cases four, and carries them through to the Cambridge examinations in Year 13. The school's fees, meanwhile, are set out for Years 1-6, Years 7-8 and the senior school Years 10-13, and Year 9 is not named in them at all.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
COBIS · accreditationCambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeCOBIS - accredited member (“COBIS Accredited Member”), at the primary and the secondary stage; Cambridge International - examination centre. Beyond that the school calls itself a member of the International Primary Curriculum: that is a curriculum provider, not an accrediting organisation. The school gives two different years for its COBIS accreditation: on the history page it became an accredited member in 2025, while the Croatian pages say the school was founded and approved by the Ministry of Science and Education and COBIS in 2013.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →IPC
International Primary Curriculum: a British primary school programme for children aged 5 to 11. It teaches through themes that draw subjects together rather than through separate subjects; it is published by the International Curriculum Association, formerly Fieldwork Education.
What this means for this school. This is a programme for the primary stage, not an accreditation of the school: the organisation sells it to schools and trains their teachers, but it does not check the quality of teaching at a particular school and keeps no public register of the schools working to it. There is no outside register to check it against, so the entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate: at the end of primary school a child moves on to the middle stage, and it is that stage which decides what they finish with.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hallA gymnasium on the top floor of the primary building, with a set of apparatus and equipment for physical education.
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓CateringThe school has no kitchen of its own; hot food is brought in every day by an outside supplier. The school gives breakfast, lunch and nourishing snacks in the morning and in the afternoon, and there are options for special diets.
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: Two sites in Zagreb: the primary one at Sveti Duh 122 and the secondary one at Ul. Augusta Harambašića 19. The school describes its rooms as equipped with modern technology and materials. It does not name what rooms the secondary site holds - its page goes no further than the address and a photo gallery.
Clubs and activities (13): Tennis · Football · Gymnastics · Piano · Chill zone · Ski school and ski trips · Bridge · Chess · French and Spanish as extra languages · Model United Nations · The Duke of Edinburgh's Award · My Super Curricular · Global Perspectives and the UN Sustainable Development Goals
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
A summer school of its own at the Sveti Duh 122 site, in English, with the emphasis on STEAM: science, mathematics, art, music and sport, experiments, drawing, songs, and outings to the zoo, the observatory and the technical museum. There is a half day and a full day, and individual lessons in Croatian or English are taken separately, at the school or online. The school names no dates, no age limits and no price.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓CounsellorThe school has a school psychologist, Sara Sigur, a master of psychology of the Filozofski fakultet in Zagreb, and a school counsellor, Anna Đurić, there since 2019, a master of sociology and pedagogy.
✓Child protection policyPublished as documents are the Child Safeguarding Policy, Anti-bullying Policy, Behaviour Policy, Cyberbullying Policy, Drug and Substance Abuse Policy, Equal Opportunities Policy, Exclusion Policy, Health and Safety Policy, Online Safety Policy, Positive Handling Policy, SEND Policy, Visitor Policy, Admission Policy and Complaints Policy.
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policySeparate policies against bullying and against bullying online.
On the school board the duties are set out by name: Uglješa Tišma is the chair of the board and the person responsible for child protection, Diana Kevrić Simoni answers for occupational health and safety, and Anna Đurić represents the staff. For approaches to the board the school gives a separate address, and it keeps a Register of Interests.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country