← Back to homeAl Amana Private School

Sharjah, UAE · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
Al Amana Private School is a British school in the Al Ramla West district of Sharjah, running the Cambridge curriculum from FS2 to Year 11 with IGCSE at the end. The core subjects - English, mathematics and science - follow the Cambridge curriculum, while Arabic, Islamic education, national and moral education follow the compulsory ministry programme; on top of these the school offers geography, French or Urdu, physical education, ICT and art. Cambridge Checkpoint tests are set in Year 6 and Year 9, and IGCSE in Years 10 and 11. The fee is among the more moderate of the emirate's Cambridge schools and includes books, but on top of it comes a long list of compulsory examinations - from 35 dirhams for early diagnostics to 800 per IGCSE subject. Among its services: a medical centre with a full-time doctor and a qualified nurse, and a counselling centre which the school describes as help with social, psychological, educational and developmental issues. One thing has to be said about the website itself: it has been hacked, and every page hides a block of casino advertising beneath the school's own text - the data for this card were taken only from the school's own pages.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $2 633–3 845 a year
9 670–14 120 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, French
About the fees The annual fee in UAE dirhams for 2026-2027, including books but excluding uniform: 9,670 for FS2 and Year 1, 10,667 for Year 2, 10,642 for Year 3, 11,351 for Year 4, 11,371 for Year 5, 11,948 for Year 6, 11,923 for Year 7, 12,069 for Year 8, 12,890 for Year 9, 13,269 for Year 10 and 14,120 for Year 11. It is paid in three termly instalments, and the 500-dirham advance registration payment is not refunded if the child does not join. On top of the fee the school charges compulsory examinations: Mubakkir early diagnostics 35 dirhams, IBT for non-Arabic speakers 45, TALA for native speakers 50, the PT series 70-100, CAT4 80, Cambridge Checkpoint 550 in Year 6 and 700 in Year 9, and IGCSE 800 dirhams per subject. Transport: 4,000 dirhams within Sharjah and 4,200 to Ajman. Refunds on leaving are calculated by weeks attended - from one month's fee for leaving in the first two weeks to three months' after the first month of attendance.
Admissions Priority in admission goes to siblings of current pupils, the decision rests on an entrance test or interview, and the school reserves the right to refuse if it judges that enrolment is not in the best interest of the pupil or the school; it calls its own decision final. The school does not publish age requirements for FS2 itself but points to the age criteria of the Sharjah Private Education Authority and publishes a separate document with the FS2 assessment syllabus.
Stages and year groups Grades FS2 to Year 11. The stages run right through: FS2 is the early years class on the EYFS framework, then Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary with Checkpoint tests in Year 6 and Year 9, then Years 10 and 11 with IGCSE examinations. Year 11 is the school's last year: it has no A Level or sixth form, so continuing after IGCSE requires another school.
Address Al Ramla West, P.O. Box 27194
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: A medical centre with a doctor and a nurse, a counselling centre, and a school store selling textbooks and notebooks at special prices. Science and technology: physics, chemistry and biology laboratories and several high-tech ICT labs used in teaching from Grade 1. For the youngest there are two separate shaded play areas with age-appropriate equipment, for the early years and primary stages. A fleet of air-conditioned buses covers Sharjah and Ajman.
Clubs and activities (9): Debating · Public speaking · Creative writing · Journalism · Recitation · Quizzes · Poetry · Storytelling · Community service
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school's medical centre is equipped and staffed by a full-time doctor and a qualified nurse: first aid and response to accidents and emergencies. The school describes its counselling centre as a place where pupils are helped to cope with the pressures of growing up and with social, psychological, educational and developmental issues, and where children needing particular support - physical, sensory, social, emotional, communicative or cognitive - are identified. On its "Safety & Wellbeing" page the school states its moral and legal health and safety obligations to pupils and staff and keeps a separate list of safeguarding leaders. The school names no security staff and no CCTV.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country