← Back to homeAl Ansar International School

Sharjah, UAE · est. 2001 · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
Al Ansar International School is a British school in Sharjah that has been running since 2001 and is licensed by the emirate regulator SPEA and by the UAE Ministry of Education. A child's route through it is continuous and long: FS1 and FS2 follow the EYFS programme, years one to nine follow the National Curriculum for England, and years ten to thirteen end in IGCSE, AS and A Level examinations. The school runs three examination centres at once - Cambridge International, Pearson Edexcel and OxfordAQA - which means a leaver can assemble subjects from the programmes of different boards. On top of the British programme the school delivers the compulsory UAE set in full: Arabic, Islamic education, social studies and moral education, and it does so for Arab and non-Arab students alike. The ethos of the school is Islamic, and it says so plainly. The teaching week is a short one: Monday to Thursday from 8:30 to 13:30, plus selected Sundays from 9:30 to 13:30.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 493–8 414 a year
16 500–30 900 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees The annual fee depends on the year group: 16,500 dirhams for FS1, 17,000 for FS2, 17,300 for year one, 19,300 for years two to four, 22,100 for years five to seven, 24,500 for years eight and nine, 26,500 for year ten and 30,900 for years eleven to thirteen. It is paid in four parts: the first in cash, the other three by cheque dated November, January and March. Transport is not included in the fee and is charged separately: 5,000 dirhams a year for a two-way journey within Sharjah and 4,500 one way, and 5,500 and 5,000 for Ajman.
Admissions Admission runs in three steps: an online application for the entrance assessment, the assessment itself with an interview, and then confirmation and the reservation of a place. After that the family goes to the registration department for document checks; interviews are booked by telephone from Monday to Thursday. Applicants who are not accepted straight away are placed on a waiting list.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 - year 13, that is from Pre-KG to grade 12 of the American scale. The stages run straight through and are divided into four phases. The first is EYFS, that is FS1 and FS2 (Pre-KG and KG1). The second is Key Stage 1, years one and two, and Key Stage 2, years three to six. The third is Key Stage 3, years seven to nine, and Key Stage 4, years ten and eleven. The fourth is Key Stage 5, years twelve and thirteen. The school requires a minimum of six subjects at IGCSE, three at AS and two at A Level.
Address 124A - Street No. 7, Al Qarayen 3
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A modern campus purpose-built for the school. School buses run across Sharjah and Ajman.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country