← Back to homeAl Maharat Private School

Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
Al Maharat Private School stands in the Shakhbout City area of Abu Dhabi and belongs to the International Community Schools group. Its stages run from the first Foundation Stage year to Year 11, which means the school ends with the IGCSE examinations and has no senior stage: a leaver takes their diploma at another school. The curriculum is Cambridge from the Early Years to IGCSE and rests on the National Curriculum of England. The school lists its subjects itself: English language and literature, mathematics, science, computing and coding, artificial intelligence and robotics, social studies, Arabic, Islamic education, physical education, a global perspectives course, moral education, and music and the arts. The main thing a parent should know: the school does not show fee amounts on its pages, only the registration fee and the regulator's approval file, and the schooling ends at Year 11.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Early Years, IGCSE
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees The school does not publish fee amounts by stage on its fees page: all that stands there is a non-refundable registration fee of AED 1,000 on enrolment and a link to the approval file from the Abu Dhabi education authority. It does set out how payment works: the whole amount by 30 August, two equal instalments by 30 August and 3 January, or three equal instalments by 30 August, 1 December and 4 April. Payment is by transfer, card or cheque made out to International Community School; a cheque returned by the bank costs AED 500. Families with two children get a 5 per cent discount on the second child.
Admissions The school says it looks at the child's age, the availability of places and any particular wishes the family has, and it invites parents to come in, talk to teachers and see the setting before applying. The application form is filled in online. The school names no nationality restrictions and stresses that it works with families from many cultures.
Stages and year groups The stages run from the first pre-school year to year eleven. Year eleven is where the school ends: there is no upper stage and no leaving diploma, and after the IGCSE examinations a student finishes their schooling elsewhere.
Address Shakhbout City
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Early Years, IGCSE · authorised programmeInternational Community Schools · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Early Years (ages 3-6), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Early Years is the nursery stage, ages 3 to 6. There are no exams at the end: the stage describes what the youngest children are taught and how, and it follows the Cambridge frame rather than a national nursery programme. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →International Community Schoolsschool network
International Community Schools (ICS) is a school group in Abu Dhabi. The site dates its start to 1990, when it opened as Al Ibrahimiyah School with 130 students, and says it now has «over 6000 academic minds«. It lists six campuses: ICS Mushrif, ICS Al Danah, ICS Al Falah City, ICS Khalifa City, ICS Al Manhal, ICS Al Maharat — some American, some British curriculum, covering Pre-KG/FS1 to Grade 12/Year 13. The group also has a separate nurseries site (nurseries.icschool-uae.com). The site names Mohamed Al-Shamma as Managing Director & CEO. The homepage student counter renders as «0+«, i.e. the figure does not load there.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus:
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median68 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country