Home · Greece · Pylea
← Back to home

Anatolia College

Greece Pylea, Greece · est. 1886 · Private
Illustration · Pylea
78.2#10 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Anatolia College is a private not-for-profit institution founded in 1886 in Merzifon, Asia Minor, and based in Thessaloniki since 1924; its present campus in Pylea was built in 1934. Anatolia College comprises Anatolia Elementary School (Pre-K to Grade 6, opened in 2003) and Anatolia High School: two Gymnasia and two Lykeia following the Greek state curriculum and taught in Greek, plus the IB Diploma Programme. The whole span from the 1st year of Gymnasio to the 1st year of Lykeio follows the IB MYP framework (since 2013), with lessons in Greek. For the last two years of Lykeio a student chooses between the Greek Lykeio with preparation for the Panhellenic exams and the IB Diploma Programme, run jointly with Pinewood entirely in English. English is reinforced: 2-3 extra hours a week, ability groups and 10 teachers from English-speaking countries. More than 1200 students attend the Gymnasio and Lykeio each year, and the school has a boarding house.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $7 411–16 155 a year
6 560–14 300 EUR
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
4 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Greek, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish, Chinese
School website
Registration fee
≈ $23
20 EUR
Deposit
≈ $2 824
2 500 EUR
Summer camp
Yes
About the fees According to the school's tuition calculator for 2026-2027, fees including the school bus are: Kindergarten 7310 EUR, Grade 1 8550 EUR, Grade 2 8480 EUR, Grades 3-6 8435 EUR, Gymnasio and Lykeio 10780 EUR, IB Diploma 15150 EUR per year. Without the bus the elementary school is 750 EUR less and the Gymnasio, Lykeio and IB 850 EUR less, i.e. from 6560 to 14300 EUR. Boarding costs 11030 EUR per year. Discounts: 5% for the second child, 40% for the third, 4% for full payment by August 31.
Admissions The school states that its IB Diploma Programme is open to students from other schools and of every nationality who have sufficient English; selection is based on English level, grades for the 3rd year of Gymnasio and the first term of the 1st year of Lykeio, and an interview, sometimes with a diagnostic test in English and Mathematics. The elementary school states that it admits students of every national, ethnic and racial origin. Entry to the 1st year of Gymnasio is by a three-part exam: Greek, English (the school looks for level B1-B2) and Mathematics; places in intermediate grades go first to top students with an average of at least 18.5 (at least 18.1 for the 2nd year of Lykeio) after an interview, and entrance exams are held if places remain. Exam results can earn a scholarship of 15% to 100%, taking family income into account. The Gymnasio exam includes Greek, and lessons there are taught in Greek.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K - 12 (3rd year of Lykeio / IBDP). Anatolia Elementary School: kindergarten (Pre-K and Kindergarten, a Greek-language programme with daily English) and an elementary school for Grades 1-6 on an adjacent site. Anatolia High School: two Gymnasia (Grades 7-9) and two Lykeia (Grades 10-12) following the Greek Ministry of Education curriculum; graduates receive the Greek Lykeio certificate (Apolytirio), equivalent to the public one. From the 1st year of Gymnasio to the 1st year of Lykeio the IB MYP runs in Greek, ending with the Personal Project. For the 2nd and 3rd years of Lykeio (Grades 11-12) there is a separate English-language stream, the Anatolia & Pinewood IBDP: the school states that only this programme is taught exclusively in English and that the IB Diploma is recognised by the Greek state as equivalent to the Lykeio certificate.
Address 60 John Kennedy Avenue, 555 35 Pylea, Thessaloniki

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · MYP, DP · authorised programme
The IB register lists the Middle Years and Diploma Programmes at the school. The MYP is taught in Greek to all gymnasium students; the Diploma is a separate English-language stream in years 11 and 12, shared with Pinewood.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results IB Diploma 2026 (Anatolia & Pinewood IBDP class): two graduates scored 44 out of 45 points and 13 graduates scored 40 points or above. Panhellenic exams 2026: 159 Lykeio graduates were admitted to high-demand schools, including 10 to medical schools, 36 to polytechnic schools and 15 to law schools.
Where leavers go: Stanford University · Princeton University · Columbia University · Johns Hopkins University · Northwestern University · Boston College · University of Cambridge · Imperial College London · University College London · King's College London · University of Edinburgh · TU Delft and others, 24 universities in the school's list in all

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: A campus of 180 stremmata in Pylea: 60 classrooms with interactive boards, two libraries, physics, biology and chemistry labs, five computer labs, a music room, two theatres, a conference centre, a dining hall, indoor gyms, a track and field stadium, football, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts, an IB building and the Anna Papageorgiou STEM Center. The dormitory has 80 places in double rooms with private bathrooms. The elementary school is on an adjacent site, the kindergarten at John Kennedy 60.
Clubs and activities: Model United Nations · Forensics · Drama Club · Pegasus · In Focus · ACSTAC · AI Ambassadors · Women in STEM · F1 in Schools · Science, Math, and Logic Puzzles
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
Summer programme away from campus: Students from the 2nd year of Gymnasio to the 2nd year of Lykeio can join academic summer programmes of universities and organisations in the USA, the UK and Europe through the university advising office.
Anatolia Rainbow is the school's summer day programme for children aged 4-12 on the elementary school campus; in 2026 it started on June 15 and all places were filled.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: IB Diploma teachers are listed on the website with their degrees: many studied at universities in the UK and the US (University of Oxford, University of Warwick, Imperial College, University College London, University of Cambridge), and some hold doctorates.
The English department has 10 teachers from English-speaking countries, and every year 5-7 American graduate-student Fellows join the school. The school does not publish its total number of teachers or a student-teacher ratio.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The Counseling and Psychological Services Department (psychologists, counselors and a special educator) provides individual and group counseling, parent counseling and prevention programmes; learning-difficulty screening is free in the Gymnasio. The school publishes a Child Protection & Safeguarding Policy and a Wellbeing Strategic Plan. Boarders have access to a doctor and the school nurse.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
88
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
95
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Byron CollegePallini · 78.3Doukas SchoolMarousi · 78.4Pierce - The American College of GreeceAghia Paraskevi · 78.5Psychico CollegePsychico · 78.5