Home · Greece · Pallini
← Back to home

Byron College

Greece Pallini, Greece · est. 1986 · Private
Illustration · Pallini
78.3#9 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Byron College is a British international day school founded in 1986. Since September 2025 the school has occupied a new campus of about 5000 m² on Anthousa Avenue in the Municipality of Pallini, east of Athens. The school describes itself as "one School on one site": children aged 4 to 18 learn together and senior students look after the younger ones. On its homepage the school reports over 600 students from more than 50 countries; its history page says around 30% of students are Greek. The curriculum is based on the National Curriculum of England: Early Years, Key Stages 1-3, then IGCSE in Years 10-11 and AS/A Level in the Sixth Form, with Pearson Edexcel and Cambridge International examinations. "The language of instruction is English", the school states, with EAL support for non-native speakers. Modern Greek is taught at several levels and Spanish from Year 5. Greek nationals can obtain the Greek Apolytirio with five GCSEs and two A Levels. The school's values are framed as CARE: Community, Action, Respect, Excellence.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $9 693–16 155 a year
8 580–14 300 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel
Admits from
4 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Greek, Spanish
School website
Students
600
Deposit
≈ $1 695
1 500 EUR
About the fees Annual tuition for the 2026-2027 academic year: EYFS 8580 euros, Key Stage 1 10860, Key Stage 2 11230, Key Stage 3 12480, Key Stage 4 13150, Sixth Form 14300 euros. Fees can be paid in three instalments or monthly from September to June.
Admissions The school welcomes students of all nationalities, whether they are permanent residents of Greece or children of parents working in Greece on a temporary basis. Admission starts with an interview with the Director of Admissions, which can take place online; the school then requests a confidential reference from the current school. Applicants for Year 4 and above, including the Secondary School, sit the INCAS or CAT 4 aptitude test, for which a charge is made. Applicants for Years 7-9 need English at B1 or B2 level, applicants for Year 10 and the Sixth Form at least B2. Applications for Year 11 or the final Sixth Form year are accepted only in exceptional circumstances. "Students cannot be accepted into Byron College if they are non-European citizens without a residence permit"; a student who is not a Greek citizen submits a valid residence permit on registration.
Stages and year groups Grades EYFS, Years 1-13. Early Years Foundation Stage (ages 4-5); Primary: Key Stage 1 (Years 1-2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3-6); Secondary: Key Stage 3 (Years 7-9), Key Stage 4 (Years 10-11, a two-year IGCSE course, a maximum of eight subjects) and the Sixth Form (Years 12-13, AS and A Level, 15 subjects available, usually four AS subjects and three A Levels). Qualifications: IGCSE and GCE AS/A Level from the Pearson Edexcel and Cambridge International examination boards; students may also sit the Greek Ellinomathia exam, the most able are offered the Extended Project Qualification and non-native speakers are prepared for IELTS. There is no IB programme on the school's website.
Address 46 Anthousis Avenue Street, Pallini, 153 51, Athens

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationCOBIS · accreditation
The Cambridge and Pearson registers name the school as an exam centre. It holds a British Schools Overseas (BSO) inspection, the latest in October 2023, and is an accredited member of COBIS. The Pearson register still lists its former address in Gerakas; the school is now in Pallini.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

A* and A grades
38%
A* and A at IGCSE
46%
Exam results Results for 2026: at A Level 38% of all exams were graded A*-A (UK average 28%, according to the school); at IGCSE/GCSE 46% of exams were graded A*-A (UK average 23%).
Where leavers go: Imperial College London · UCL (University College London) · University of Manchester · University of Bath · Royal Veterinary College · University of Bristol · Warwick University · University of Southampton · University of Amsterdam · Eindhoven University of Technology
Graduates of 2026 entered British and European universities, ten of them named; the school says all students were placed in universities of their choice. The Sixth Form supports applications, including for Oxbridge.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: Book Club · Kindness Workshop · Bold Byron Speakers · Art Club · Eco Club · Board Games · Chess Club · Quest Club · Knitting · Drama Club · Leadership Club · Greek Dancing · Orchestra · Choir · Languages Ambassadors · Physics Olympiad Competition Training · Varsity Football · Varsity Basketball · Varsity Volleyball · Debate · Model United Nations · Robotics · Music Lessons · Creative Writing · Muddy Hands Clay Adventures · Mini Tennis · Table Tennis · Tennis · Fencing · Homework Club · Junior String Ensemble · Philosophy Club · The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
✓Security staff
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The Designated Safeguarding Lead is the Head of Student Development, with three deputies from the school leadership; the Safeguarding Policy is available on request. The School Nurse is on site every day from 8:30 to 17:00, and the school works with an educational psychologist. Late students enter through the Main Gate and report to the Security Office. Mobile phones are prohibited on school premises.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
70
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Anatolia CollegePylea · 78.2Doukas SchoolMarousi · 78.4Pierce - The American College of GreeceAghia Paraskevi · 78.5Psychico CollegePsychico · 78.5