Home · Spain · Pozuelo de Alarcon
← Back to home

Aquinas American School - Poniente

Spain Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain · est. 2012 · Private
Illustration · Pozuelo de Alarcon
73.6#115 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

This is the senior stage of Aquinas American School - a separate campus at Poniente 20 in the Monte Alina neighbourhood of Pozuelo de Alarcón, four kilometres from its own campus for preschool and grades 1-8. Grades 9-12 run here, that is from 3º ESO to the second year of the baccalaureate, and a leaver picks one of two roads: an American diploma with Spanish language and the history of Spain, or the IB diploma in the last two years. The Diploma Programme is authorised, and the school is open about its results: in 2026 a hundred per cent passed with an average of 33.42, and its average has been above the world one for eight years running. Teaching is in English, Spanish language and literature and the geography and history of Spain are taught in Spanish, and group 2 of the diploma includes French. There is a college counsellor of its own and a university admissions blog, the school acts as an SAT testing centre, and a hundred hours of community service over four years are built into the programme. A feature of its own is boarding: a residence in Alcorcón eight minutes from the campus, double rooms with en-suite bathrooms, round-the-clock supervision, houseparents and tutors, timetabled study hours and weekend excursions. The school publishes fees both for day pupils, from 13400 to 15200 euros a year on this campus, and for boarding, 44000 euros; it states neither pupil numbers nor teacher numbers.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $15 138–17 172 a year
13 400–15 200 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · American programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, French
About the fees The school publishes day-pupil fees in a separate table for the 2026-2027 school year. On this campus: Grades 9-10: 13400 euros a year, Grades 11-12 with the American diploma 13800 euros, Grades 11-12 with the IB Diploma 15200 euros; for comparison, the younger stages on the other campus cost from 8250 euros in kindergarten to 11400 in Grades 6-8. The fee is paid in 10 monthly instalments from September 2026 to June 2027, and in Grade 12 in 8, from September 2026 to April 2027. Sibling discounts: 10 per cent for the second child, 30 for the third and 75 for the fourth and further children. Boarding is priced separately: the full package is 44000 euros a year and covers tuition, health insurance, accommodation in a double room with an en-suite bathroom, 3 meals a day with snacks, textbooks, 2 sets of uniform, round-the-clock supervision, academic guidance, university counselling for Grades 11-12, weekend activities and academic field trips.
Admissions The school takes pupils from all over the world: it explicitly offers its boarding programme to students from different countries. Admission runs through an online platform and all year round: an application and a visit, then an interview online or at the school and entrance tests; the decision comes in an official letter, after which the family confirms the place and pays the registration fee. The school needs grades for the 2 previous years and the current year and letters of recommendation, which the teacher or tutor submits to the platform directly; pupils who studied Grades 7-11 abroad bring original documents with an apostille or certified in the country of issue. For children whose first language is not English, English is shown with the Duolingo English Test: 130 points for Grades 9-10 and 135 for Grades 11-12. For Grades 1-12 applications are reviewed by date of submission and subject to places, and enrolment stays conditional until the school receives the previous year's grades. The grade is assigned by year of birth: 2011 - Grade 9, 2010 - Grade 10, 2009 - Grade 11 and the first year of the Diploma, 2008 - Grade 12 and the second year of the Diploma.
Stages and year groups Grades grade 9 - grade 12, that is 3º ESO to 2º Bachillerato. The stage runs four years: grades 9 and 10 correspond to 3º and 4º ESO, grades 11 and 12 to the first and second year of the Spanish baccalaureate. In the last two years a pupil goes either for the American diploma with Spanish language and the history of Spain, or for the IB diploma, which the school holds authorisation for precisely for grades 11-12. The programme includes honors courses and preparation for the SAT and the UNED, and over four years a leaver must complete a hundred hours of community service. Up to grade 9 pupils study on the school's other campus, at Transversal Cuatro 4.
Address C/ Poniente 20, Urbanización Monte Alina

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

MSA · accreditationIB · DP · authorised programmeCollege Board · authorised programmeMathema Educación · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Mathema Educaciónschool network

Mathema Educación is a school group whose history begins in 2012 with Aquinas American School in Pozuelo de Alarcón: its founders, supported by families, bought the building of a Spanish school and turned it into an American one. The Mathema Educación brand was created in October 2022 as the name of the group, which runs three schools and a student residence. Besides Aquinas, these are the British International School of Navarra in Gorraiz (Navarre), managed by the Aquinas team since the 2020/21 school year, and Atlas - American School of Malaga in Estepona, opened in 2022. The Aquinas residence for high school students is in Montepríncipe. The group's site is mathemaeducacion.es.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
33.42 (world average 30.88)
Exam results The IB diploma in 2026: a hundred per cent of leavers passed, with an average of 33.42. The school writes that its average has been above the world average for eight years running.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The high school stands at Poniente 20 in the Monte Alina neighbourhood, the campus for the junior stages at Transversal Cuatro 4 in the same neighbourhood, and the residence at Paseo de los Ciruelos 14 in Monteprincipe in Alcorcón, 4 kilometres and 8 minutes from the school. The residence has double rooms with en-suite bathrooms, common areas, study rooms, internet, round-the-clock security and a dining hall of its own with hot meals. Of its own sports facilities the school names a 7x7 football pitch, basketball courts and a gymnasium; the senior stage also trains at the municipal Ángel Nieto sports centre. In its list of what is available to residence pupils the school names a gym, a pool, a football pitch, common areas and a library, without saying where they stand.
Clubs and activities (12): Football · Basketball · Volleyball · Tennis · Padel · Theatre · Music · Painting · Virtual art gallery · Entrepreneurship programme · Getafe International Madrid football academy · High-performance basketball with Baloncesto Torrelodones

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
By name the school publishes only its leadership: the head of school, who is also the high school principal, a chaplain, a residence director holding a master's degree in learning disorders, a director of admissions and communications and a finance officer. It does not state teacher numbers, their qualifications, the pupil-teacher ratio or class sizes. Named separately are the college counsellor, who carries a pupil through applications and deadlines, and the student support service working on both campuses.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
84
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
57
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Kensington SchoolPozuelo de Alarcon · 73.6Montessori British SchoolMurcia · 73.7Emilio Sánchez American SchoolEl Prat de Llobregat · 73.4Canterbury SchoolLas Palmas de Gran Canaria · 73.4