Home · UAE · Sharjah
← Back to home

Beaconhouse Al Khaleej International School

ОАЭ Sharjah, UAE · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
70.1#109 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Beaconhouse Al Khaleej International School, or BAKIS, is an American-programme school in the Al Azra district of Sharjah, running from Pre-KG to grade 12. The curriculum is assembled from American standards: the California Common Core for English and mathematics, the Next Generation Science Standards for science, while Arabic, Islamic education, social studies and moral education follow the requirements of the UAE Ministry of Education. From grade 10 the school runs Advanced Placement courses - in biology, chemistry, physics, calculus, statistics and precalculus - and it is itself a certified College Board centre for the SAT, ACT and AP exams. From grade 4 specialist-taught subjects are added: art, music and French. By the school's own counters it has 1,049 students and 77 teachers, that is one teacher to fifteen children. The school calls itself inclusive and keeps a dedicated centre for Students of Determination. Its outside assessment is twofold: accreditation by Cognia and a "Good" rating in its latest review by the Sharjah Private Education Authority (SPEA).

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $4 152–7 263 a year
15 248–26 675 AED
Programmes
AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, French
School website
About the fees The annual fee depends on the stage: 15,247.50 dirhams in Pre-KG, 15,772.50 in the two kindergarten years, 18,255 - 18,280 in grades 1 to 3, 21,260 - 21,435 in grades 4 and 5, 21,285 in grade 6, about 22,350 in grades 7 to 9 and 26,575 - 26,675 in grades 10 to 12. On top of the fee the school charges for books - from 513 dirhams in the kindergarten to 2,460 in the senior years - and for uniform including VAT, from 420 to 683 dirhams. The fee is split into three instalments: 40 per cent, 30 and 30. Transport is not included: Sharjah 4,500 dirhams a year, Ajman 5,000, Dubai 6,000. The school warns that the fee may change after SPEA approval, and says plainly that there are no scholarships at present and that a scholarship programme is being prepared.
Admissions Registration for the next school year opens in January, and places are given first come, first served. The grade is set by year of birth under the new SPEA age policy: for 2026-2027 Pre-KG takes children born in 2023, KG1 those born in 2022, KG2 in 2021, grade 1 in 2020, and so on a year per grade up to grade 12. The decision rests on an entrance test or an interview depending on the grade: Pre-KG to grade 3 have a face-to-face interview, grades 4 to 12 sit the CAT4 test. Moving in from a British or Indian curriculum at grade 10 or above requires an equivalency procedure through the Ministry of Education website; foreign documents must be attested by the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the UAE embassy.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-KG - grade 12. The stages run straight through from Pre-KG to grade 12, divided into kindergarten, elementary, middle and high school. Advanced Placement courses start in grade 10, and specialist-taught art, music and French start in grade 4. From grades 5 and 8 the school introduces Google for Education tools.
Address Al Azra, Sharjah, PO Box 70602

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cognia · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeBeaconhouse Education Group · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED

The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Beaconhouse Education Groupschool network

Beaconhouse is a school group of Pakistani origin; its site beaconhouse.net dates its start to 1975: «Established in November 1975 as the Les Anges Montessori Academy with 19 toddlers», «began as a small nursery in a private house in Lahore in 1975». Numbers and countries disagree inside that site: the About us page gives «400,000+ students across six countries», while the Group Profile page says «over 311,000 students studying in eight countries»; the country list on the homepage («the Malaysia, the Philippines, Pakistan, the UAE, Oman, and Thailand») differs from the one on the regional site beaconhousemena.com, «established in the UK, Malaysia, the Philippines, Pakistan, the UAE, Oman, Belgium and Thailand». The Middle East arm lives on beaconhousemena.com and lists five schools: Newlands School in Dubai, Beaconhouse School System Al Ain, Beaconhouse Al Khaleej in Sharjah, and two sites in Oman - Al Khuwair and Qurum. The group has more than one name on its own pages: Group Profile writes «The Beaconhouse Group», the regional site is headed «The Beaconhouse School System», and the name «Beaconhouse Education Group» comes from the schools' own prose. The group calls its arms «distinct and independent divisions»; whether it owns or manages the schools no page says.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Playground
Campus: The school calls its campus purpose-built. On it there is a large playground for various sports, physics, chemistry and biology laboratories, a computer lab, a library with a collection of more than a thousand books, a swimming pool with swimming lessons, a music room, an art room, a tricycle area for the youngest children, a large dining hall and a separate parents' lounge, which the school describes as a hub of support and advice.
Clubs and activities (4): Sport · Chess · Theatre · STEM club

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
There are 77 teachers to 1,049 students, that is one teacher to fifteen children; art, music and French are taught by separate specialists. The school names neither qualifications nor class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
85
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Swiss International Scientific School DubaiDubai · 70.1Dubai National School Al TwarDubai · 70.1ADNOC Schools - Sas Al NakhlAbu Dhabi · 70.1American Academy for GirlsDubai · 70