← Back to homeDubai National School Al Twar

Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
Dubai National School Al Twar is the second campus of the Dubai National School group in Dubai, and it has held NEASC accreditation since May 2012: its most recent renewal came in July 2022 after an external review visit. The curriculum is American: every subject follows US standards except Arabic language, Islamic education and social studies, which the school teaches to the curriculum of the UAE Ministry of Education. The stages run from the nursery group to grade 12, and in the kindergarten the school teaches early literacy in both Arabic and English. The campus is a large one with a set rarely found in a Dubai school: three multipurpose gymnasiums, separate swimming pools for girls, for boys and for toddlers, two libraries, fully equipped biology, chemistry and physics laboratories, computer labs, art rooms, a soccer field and outdoor basketball courts, cafeterias, indoor play halls, landscaped green areas and a separate Happiness Hall for student wellbeing. Medical care is provided by a qualified medical team of the school's own. Child protection is a procedure rather than a statement: there is a Designated Safeguarding Lead, staff are required to report any concern, and the school cites the UAE child rights law - Wadeema's Law of June 2016 - by name.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $5 411–10 575 a year
19 872–38 836 AED
Programmes
AP · American programme
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees Fees for the 2025/2026 academic year: 26,253 dirhams each for all three ECC nursery groups, 19,872 for Pre-KG, 23,690 each for KG1 and KG2, 25,887 for grades 1 to 3, 28,003 for grades 4 to 6, 32,316 for grades 7 to 9, 37,227 for grade 10 and 38,836 for grades 11 and 12. The school promises discounts of up to twenty per cent for ECC, Pre-KG and KG pupils and a sibling discount of up to twenty per cent for families with more than one child enrolled. No application or registration fees appear on the fees page.
Stages and year groups Grades ECC nursery group - grade 12. The stages run right through: the ECC nursery groups, the Pre-KG group, kindergarten KG1-KG2, elementary school, middle school and high school to grade 12. The fees are set out by bands of grades: 1 to 3, 4 to 6, 7 to 9, grade 10 on its own, and 11 to 12.
Address Al Twar, P.O. Box 20057
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
NEASC · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges
An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme
An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
American programme
The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.
What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: A campus with green outdoor areas that the school describes as park-like. Sport: three multipurpose gymnasiums, separate swimming pools for girls, for boys and for toddlers, a soccer field, outdoor basketball courts and indoor play halls. Teaching spaces: two libraries, fully equipped biology, chemistry and physics laboratories, computer labs with up-to-date hardware and high-speed internet, art rooms, and classrooms with multimedia projectors and audio systems. The rest: cafeterias, multi-purpose halls, a separate Happiness Hall for student wellbeing, a medical service and outdoor playgrounds. Transport is the school's own fleet of buses serving areas across Dubai; drivers and bus attendants are trained and certified to RTA regulations and to student safeguarding protocols, and a family's route is arranged by the transport supervisor after enrolment.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Medical care on the campus is provided by a qualified medical team of the school's own. Child protection is arranged as a procedure rather than a single document: a Designated Safeguarding Lead is appointed, all staff are required by law and by school rules to report any concern about a pupil's welfare, and the school cites the UAE child rights law - Wadeema's Law, enacted in June 2016 - by name. Of its services the school names counselling and inclusive practices; it does not claim a psychologist of its own as a separate item.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)75 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data90 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country