Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Swiss International Scientific School Dubai

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
70.1#109 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Swiss International Scientific School Dubai is the only boarding school in the region running a bilingual International Baccalaureate from the age of three to eighteen. Bilingualism here is not decoration but the structure of the programme: a family chooses between a French-English, a German-English and an English-medium route, and in 2024 sixty per cent of leavers gained a bilingual or advanced bilingual diploma, with an average of 34 points and a hundred per cent pass rate. The boarding house holds around two hundred pupils from the age of eleven, the pastoral team lives on campus, and the school stands close to central Dubai, fifteen minutes from the airport. The campus was purpose-designed and includes an Olympic-sized pool and a six-hundred-seat auditorium. Beyond the Diploma Programme the school runs the career-related CP with British BTEC qualifications and its own golf academy together with the Dubai Creek academy. Its pupils come from more than a hundred nationalities. The school belongs to the Nord Anglia Education network, through which it runs collaborations with MIT, The Juilliard School, UNICEF and IMG Academy.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $17 127–32 240 a year
62 900–118 400 AED
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP · BTEC
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English, French, German
School website
About the fees Day fees for the 2026/2027 academic year depend on the route: on the bilingual route Pre-KG is 68,868 dirhams, KG1 and KG2 are 76,903, grades 1 to 4 cost 91,823 and grade 5 costs 94,693; on the English+ route the same stages cost 62,900, 69,886, 80,865 and 83,317. From grade 6 the routes come level: grades 6 to 8 pay 104,247, grades 9 and 10 pay 112,992, grades 11 and 12 pay 118,400. Boarding: full boarding runs from 240,747 dirhams for grades 6 to 8 up to 259,100 for grades 11 and 12, weekly boarding from 201,897 to 220,250; flexi boarding, open to the school's own day pupils from grade 6, costs 2,500 dirhams for six nights and 525 for an extra night, up to five weeks a year. The application fee is 525 dirhams; registration runs from 6,290 to 11,840 for day pupils and is 52,250 for boarders, and registration is set against the fee. Day fees cover textbooks, supervision of the youngest children and in-house after-school activities; trips, transport, uniform, meals, outside activities and the IB and BTEC examination fees are counted separately. Full boarding covers accommodation, all meals, three in-house activities a week, the evening and weekend programme, the student visa, textbooks and examination fees, a nurse and a clinic, laundry, a set of uniform and an academic support programme.
Stages and year groups Grades age 3 - age 18, Pre-KG - grade 12. The stages run right through without a break: early years from 3 to 6, the primary years from 6 to 11, the middle years from 11 to 16 and upper secondary from 16 to 18. Boarding is open from the age of eleven.
Address Dubai Healthcare City, Phase 2, Al Jaddaf

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · membershipIB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP · authorised programmeNord Anglia Education · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Nord Anglia Educationschool network

A group of international schools of the full cycle, day and boarding. The numbers on its site diverge: the "About Nord Anglia" page speaks of 89 schools in 37 countries, the "Our schools" and "Our global network" pages - of 90, the "All schools" page - of "90+"; pupils are more than 100,000 everywhere. Whether the group owns the schools, manages them under contract or gives its methodology under licence is not said on its pages. The year of foundation and the country of registration are not named there.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Campus: The campus was designed for the school by leading architects and the school calls it one of the finest international school and boarding campuses in the Middle East, stressing its sustainability. It names bright, spacious classrooms, an Olympic-sized swimming pool and a six-hundred-seat auditorium. The boarding house is a residence on campus for around two hundred pupils aged eleven and above, with the pastoral team living on site.
Clubs and activities: Golf academy · Swimming · Community service
Source: sisd.ae

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Boarding fees include the services of a dedicated nurse and a clinic.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
67
Value for money (6%)
50
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Dubai National School Al TwarDubai · 70.1ADNOC Schools - Sas Al NakhlAbu Dhabi · 70.1Beaconhouse Al Khaleej International SchoolSharjah · 70.1American Academy for GirlsDubai · 70