← Back to homeBrighton College Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
Brighton College Abu Dhabi is a British independent school on the model of Brighton College in England: boys and girls from three to eighteen, taught right through without changing schools. The campus stands in Bloom Gardens in Khalifa Park, behind Al Bateen airport. In April 2024 the British BSO inspection rated the school outstanding in every single category - for the quality of education, for leadership, for pupils' progress, for their spiritual, moral, social and cultural development, for welfare, health and safety, and separately for the sixth-form provision. The academic route is British in shape: from Year 6 the range of subjects widens, in Year 9 a pupil chooses GCSE subjects and at the same time takes the Brighton College Diploma - a yearlong course linking school subjects to the wider world - and in the Sixth Form takes A levels. A Careers Discovery Curriculum runs from Year 7. There is a great deal beyond lessons: more than a hundred clubs and societies, a house system with housemasters and housemistresses, and trips ranging from volunteering in Nepal to sporting competition in Bangkok and Model United Nations conferences.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $13 841–21 996 a year
50 830–80 780 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level
About the fees The annual fee: 50,830 dirhams for Nursery FS1, 52,880 for FS2, 62,610 for Years 1 to 5, 68,560 for Years 6 to 9 and 80,780 for Years 10 to 13. It is paid in three parts - 40 per cent in the autumn term and 30 per cent in each of the spring and summer terms.
Admissions The school takes boys and girls from three to eighteen and carries them through every stage without a move to another school. Admission runs through the admissions team: an application, an enquiry form, a virtual meeting, a call back and a visit to the campus; the school also holds open mornings.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery (FS1) from age 3 - Year 13, up to age 18. The stages run straight through: Pre-Prep from Nursery (FS1) to Year 2, Prep for the middle years, Senior from Year 6, where the range of subjects widens, and Sixth Form in Years 12 and 13. GCSE subjects are chosen in Year 9 together with parents, and in that same Year 9 a pupil takes the Brighton College Diploma, a yearlong course linking study to the wider world.
Address 175 Das Street, Bloom Gardens, Khalifa Park
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East
One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A campus in Bloom Gardens in Khalifa Park, behind Al Bateen airport, with separate parts for the pre-prep, prep and senior stages. The school names no individual facilities.
Clubs and activities (100): Over a hundred clubs and societies · Model United Nations · Volunteering trips · Sports competitions abroad · House system
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The BSO inspection called the school's leadership at all levels - the new headmaster, the governing body and leaders throughout - inspirational, and the learning experiences designed by its teachers remarkable. The school publishes no number of teachers, no qualifications, no pupil-teacher ratio and no class size.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school publishes no separate child protection policy on the pages read, but the BSO inspection of April 2024 rated the welfare, health and safety of pupils outstanding. Pastoral work runs through form tutors and housemasters or housemistresses.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country