Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Yas American Academy

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
66.8#193 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Yas American Academy stands on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi and belongs to Aldar Education, which grew from a single school of 247 pupils in 2007 into seven academies with more than nine thousand pupils. The curriculum is the American Massachusetts State curriculum: the Common Core standards, the NGSS for science and SHAPE for physical education, with Pre-AP, AP and Honors courses on top. The stages run from the Pre-KG group to grade 12, and the high school has two routes - general and advanced - with a choice of electives and AP courses. Arabic, UAE social studies and Islamic education follow ministry of education requirements. Of outcomes the school names one: nearly a hundred per cent of its last graduating cohort were accepted into universities. The campus is built around technology and the arts: STEM and engineering labs with robotics, artificial intelligence and mechanical design, an esports room with professional-grade gaming PCs, consoles and virtual reality equipment, a dance studio with mirrored walls and professional flooring, and a clinic staffed with qualified medical professionals.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $15 545–18 747 a year
57 090–68 850 AED
Programmes
AP · American programme
Preschool stage
yes
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, French
School website
About the fees The annual fee is taken in three parts and rises by stage: 57,090 dirhams for Pre-KG, KG1 and KG2, 59,330 for grades 1-5, 63,820 for grades 6-8 and 68,850 for grades 9-12. The fee does not include uniform, food services, transport, examination fees or extracurricular activities outside school hours. There are many named discounts: a 10 per cent welcome discount for enrolling in Pre-KG or KG1 for 2026-2027, 20 per cent under the scholarship programme, 4 per cent back for both referrer and referee under the referral campaign, a 10 per cent rebate for a third child in the family and 15 per cent for a fourth and above. The fee can be spread over interest-free monthly instalments with cards from FAB, ADIB and ENBD.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-KG - grade 12. The stages run straight through from the Pre-KG group to grade 12. The high school has two routes - general and advanced - and a pupil builds up electives and AP courses. The fee is divided into four bands: the kindergarten, grades 1-5, grades 6-8 and grades 9-12.
Address Yas Leisure Drive, Yas Island

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

NEASC · accreditationAldar Education · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges

An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Aldar Educationschool network

Aldar Education is the schools arm of the Abu Dhabi developer Aldar; its own domain aldareducation.com returned a 302 redirect to aldar.com/education on 25 Sep 2026. That page serves only metadata with no body text (it is script-rendered), so no figures could be taken from it; everything below comes from aldaracademies.com, a site of the same company. Figures there disagree across pages of one site: the homepage says «We are part of Aldar Education who own and operate 29 schools across the UAE, educating over 33,000 students«, the Our Academies page says «...own and operate 20 schools across the UAE, educating over 24,000 students«, and the Aldar Education Schools and Nursery page shows counters «12 Schools, 3 leading curricula«, «16,000 Students, aged 2-18 years old«, «17 years of academic excellence«. The wording «own and operate« claims both ownership and operation; the site does not break this down school by school. Besides the seven Aldar Academies, the site names Kent College Dubai, Al Shohub Private School, Cranleigh Abu Dhabi, Virginia International Private School and Noya British School as Aldar Education schools.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: STEM and engineering labs for robotics, artificial intelligence, coding and mechanical design. An esports room with professional-grade gaming PCs, consoles and virtual reality equipment. A dance studio with mirrored walls and professional flooring for ballet, contemporary dance and movement work. Classrooms with equipment for real-time content sharing and collaboration. A clinic.
Clubs and activities (11): Model United Nations · TedX · Gamesmaster · Programming · AP Calculus · AP Precalculus · Cookery · Sewing · French · Lego · Creative writing

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a clinic of its own - a Health & Wellness Clinic with qualified medical professionals, which the school describes as available at all times. On the pages read it names no child protection policy, no security staff, no CCTV and no psychologist; a school policies section exists as a separate page.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
73.5
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
63
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Brighton College Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 66.8SABIS International School - Al BateenAbu Dhabi · 66.8The Oxford SchoolDubai · 66.7Arcadia Global SchoolDubai · 66.7