Home · UAE · Ajman
← Back to home

British International School, Ajman

ОАЭ Ajman, UAE · est. 2014 · Private
Illustration · Ajman
75.0#21 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The school opened in 2014 and stands where Ajman meets Sharjah, so it also brings children in from Dubai and Umm Al Quwain. It teaches the British curriculum from kindergarten to the twelfth year and separates the stages even by telephone: the kindergarten, the primary school and the secondary school each have their own number. The senior stage runs along two roads: the usual one, with IGCSE and then three or four A-Level subjects in the eleventh and twelfth years, and the vocational BTEC International Level 3 in business, applied science and information technology, which takes pupils with five IGCSE grades no lower than E. The school publishes its 2025 results openly: at IGCSE everyone passed, 82 percent of grades were A and A*, and 36 percent of those who sat gained six or more top grades; at BTEC 77 percent achieved a distinction, and at AS and A-Level 82 percent were graded from A to B. The campus is built with a leaning towards nature and technology: a robotics laboratory working with Lego, sensors and motors, an indoor sports hall, a football pitch, a basketball court and cricket nets, and beside them a teaching greenhouse, a rock garden, a butterfly garden and a recycling garden. Pupils travel a great deal to Model United Nations conferences and bring awards back from them. Tuition costs from 11 to 22 thousand dirhams a year, and the school gives a third child in a family ten percent off. Neither pupil numbers, nor teacher numbers, nor a list of universities does the school name.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $2 995–5 990 a year
11 000–22 000 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · BTEC
Admits from
4 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Registration fee
≈ $136
500 AED
About the fees Tuition runs from 11,000 dirhams a year in KG1 to 22,000 in the twelfth year: KG1 11,000, KG2 11,500, years 1 to 4 12,000, the fifth 12,600, the sixth 16,200, the seventh and eighth 17,200, the ninth and tenth 18,500, the eleventh 21,000, the twelfth 22,000. A second child pays the same, and for a third the school lowers the fee by ten percent: from 9900 dirhams in KG1 to 19,800 in the twelfth year. The first instalment is paid in cash, by card or by a current-dated cheque, and for the next two deadlines the school takes two post-dated cheques. Tuition does not cover textbooks, uniform and the bus, which the school charges for separately.
Admissions Children come from different countries and the school sets no restrictions by citizenship, sex or faith, but from the primary stage it tests knowledge. For kindergarten there are no entrance examinations: the school invites the child in for a visit and observation. For the primary and the secondary school applicants sit English and mathematics, the assessment runs from 14:30 to 16:00, and the school promises to give its answer the next day. For BTEC it takes pupils with five IGCSE grades no lower than E. A place is held by a non-refundable registration fee. The school sets the order out in five steps: documents and the application form, the assessment with an interview, the decision, the registration fee, then the remaining documents and payment.
Stages and year groups Grades KG1 - Grade 12. The school separates the stages like this: kindergarten KG1 and KG2 and the first year, the primary school from the second to the fourth year, the secondary and senior school from the fifth to the twelfth, and separately BTEC International Level 3. In kindergarten the teaching is bilingual, English and Arabic, and the school lists the subjects by the areas of Foundation Stage: language and communication, mathematics, personal, social and emotional development, understanding the world, physical development, expressive art and design, literacy and Arabic. At A-Level in the eleventh and twelfth years a pupil takes three or four subjects.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school publishes its 2025 results openly. At IGCSE everyone passed in every subject, 82 percent of grades were A and A*, and 36 percent of those who sat gained six or more top grades. At BTEC a distinction was awarded to 77 percent of pupils. At AS and A-Level 82 percent were graded from A to B. Separately the school names Ayshe Mohammad Sharif, who won an Outstanding Cambridge Learner Award in accounting with the top result in the UAE.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hallAn indoor multi-purpose sports hall: table tennis, indoor basketball, gymnastics
✓LaboratoriesA robotics laboratory, where moving models are built out of Lego with sensors and motors
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Model United Nations · Robotics · Sports clubs · Art and music · Community work · International and cultural celebrations · Gardening and recycling
Source: bisuae.ae

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policyThe school keeps its list of policies open: rules of behaviour, an anti-bullying policy, the order for reporting misuse of the network and cyberbullying, acceptable use rules for pupils and separately for staff and visitors, work with digital content and social media, work with gifted pupils, lateness, discipline, and also a policy on closing the school in case of a threat and an emergency action plan
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policyA separate anti-bullying policy and a separate order for reporting cyberbullying
The school puts its list of policies up on its second domain, and the link labelled as child protection leads to the same anti-bullying policy file - there is no separate child protection document under its own name in the list. A designated safeguarding lead, staff training, a clinic and a counsellor the school does not name. Of its appearance rules the school writes itself that uniform is compulsory, jewellery is not encouraged and the school takes no responsibility for lost personal belongings.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
88
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Wesgreen International School - SharjahSharjah · 75GEMS Founders School - Al MizharDubai · 75.1Deira International SchoolDubai · 74.8The International School of Choueifat - SharjahSharjah · 74.8