← Back to homeThe British School of Almería

Roquetas de Mar, Spain · est. 2006 · Private
Illustration · Roquetas de Mar
The British School of Almería is a private British school in Roquetas de Mar near Almería, working since 2006; it now belongs to the international group International Schools Partnership (ISP). It teaches children from three to eighteen on the British curriculum: Early Years (EYFS), primary school, secondary with IGCSE and Sixth Form with A-Level, and the Sixth Form also offers practical BTEC courses. In parallel pupils take the compulsory Spanish subjects and obtain the Spanish ESO certificate, and in the Sixth Form they prepare for the PAU for entry to Spanish universities, so they leave with two qualifications. The school stresses that it is not bilingual but fully British: almost everything is taught in English, and only the Spanish subjects are taught in Spanish; from secondary school French or German is added with preparation for DELF/DALF and the Goethe-Zertifikat. For international pupils there is a Spanish as an additional language programme. The school is an official Cambridge English examination centre. By its figures: 92 per cent of pupils pass IGCSE, 43 per cent achieve the top grades, 97 per cent pass A-Level (96 per cent of grades from A to E, 73 per cent from A to C), and all leavers reach their first-choice destination. The seaside campus has a heated pool, three laboratories and a climbing wall. There is a music school, a language academy and a summer camp. The school does not publish its fees on its site.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, German
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees The school does not publish the amount of its fees on its site; prices are given on request through the form. In its FAQ the school describes what the fees consist of: a one-off registration fee on joining, an annual enrolment fee and a monthly fee that includes lunch; transport and the breakfast club are charged separately.
Admissions The school describes itself as an international community: children of different nationalities learn together, and international pupils have Spanish as an additional language support; in testimonials parents write about moving from another country. Admission is all year round, in seven steps: an enquiry through the form, a tour, a meeting with the admissions team and leadership, documents (previous reports, transcripts, medical documents where needed), an English test from Year 3 where needed, an offer of a place and enrolment.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 (age 3) - Year 13 (age 18). Early Years (ages 3-5) on the British EYFS curriculum with full English immersion, native-speaker teachers and bilingual assistants. Primary (ages 5-11): the British National Curriculum plus compulsory Spanish subjects (Spanish language and knowledge of the environment), music with specialist teachers, programming, swimming as part of PE. Secondary (ages 11-16): preparation for IGCSE and the Spanish ESO certificate (Spanish language and literature, history and geography), with French or German as a third language. Sixth Form (ages 16-18): A-Levels chosen from physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, business, geography, history, media studies, English literature, a foreign language, music technology, art and design; BTEC courses are available; PAU preparation. The school day runs roughly from 09:00 to 16:00.
Address Calle Alemania 28, Roquetas de Mar, Almería
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeInternational Schools Partnership · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →International Schools Partnershipschool network
A group of private international schools, founded in 2013 by five leaders from international education. The numbers diverge: the home page gives 121 schools in 26 countries and "132,000+" pupils, the "About us" page - 106 schools in 25 countries, the "Who and where we are" page - 121 schools in more than 26 markets and 118,000 pupils. The site writes that schools keep their own character, brand and curriculum when they join ISP, but does not say whether ISP buys the schools, manages them under contract or brings them together by membership.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results By the school's figures: 92 per cent of pupils pass IGCSE, 43 per cent achieve the top grades; 97 per cent pass A-Level, 96 per cent of grades from A to E and 73 per cent from A to C; all leavers reach their first-choice destination. The school does not state the year of these results.
Where leavers go: University of Oxford · University of Cambridge · Imperial College London · UCL
The school does not publish destinations by year; it writes that all leavers reach their first-choice destination and names among its leavers' universities Oxford, Cambridge, Imperial College London, UCL and leading universities in Spain, Europe and North America.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: The campus is in a quiet residential area of Roquetas de Mar, near the beach. A heated pool for PE lessons and clubs; separate physics, chemistry and biology laboratories and a reagent preparation room; a computer room; a spacious art workshop; an indoor gym, a climbing wall, football and basketball courts; outdoor areas for kindergarten and primary; a music room; a dining room. School buses with supervisors run on several routes in the province.
Clubs and activities: BSA Music School · Choir · Language academy · ISP Model United Nations · ISP Filmmakers · ISP Chess Masters · ISP Scientists · ISP Artists · ISP Changemakers · ISP cultural exchange
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
A summer camp for children aged 3 to 15, open also to children from other schools: everything in English with native and bilingual teachers, sport, art and design, pool time supervised by lifeguards, age groups, a school bus and lunch. The page gives no prices or dates.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not publish the number of its teachers. Many, it says, are native English speakers; all teachers are certified by the group in AI and educational technology. The head teacher, Gillian Greaves, has led the school since 2018 and has worked there since 2007; the team page presents stage leaders, including a University of Bristol graduate and a teacher with a PGCEi from the University of Nottingham. Sixth Form classes are small; the school gives no sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a safeguarding team that includes the school psychologist. All visitors register at reception and enter only with authorisation; cameras cover key areas; staff supervise pupils at breaks, transitions, lunch and clubs; emergency protocols are practised; internet access is filtered through Smoothwall. All staff receive regular safeguarding training. The school publishes a child protection policy, an anti-bullying policy, policies on mobile devices, online safety and others. The school names no nurse and no security guard.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data90 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median74 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country