← Back to homeCaxton College

Puçol, Spain · est. 1987 · Private
Illustration · Puçol
Caxton College is a private co-educational British school in Puçol, 15 minutes north of Valencia, between the sea and the mountains. The school was founded in 1987 by the Gil-Marqués family and is still family-run: the head is Marta Gil. It teaches children from 1 to 18 years old following the British National Curriculum, from Baby Caxton to Year 13, and offers it, in its own words, to Spanish and international pupils; its community counts more than 45 nationalities. Lessons of the British curriculum are taught in English and the Spanish subjects in Spanish: 72 per cent of the teachers are British, 8 per cent come from other English-speaking countries and 20 per cent are Spanish and teach the Spanish part of the curriculum. In Year 11 pupils sit IGCSE and GCSE, in Year 12 and Year 13 A Level, and alongside A Level they take the Spanish block of subjects for entry to Spanish universities. German or French is added in secondary school. Since 2019 the school has held British Schools Overseas accreditation with the top grade Excellent. The 42000 square metre campus has two swimming pools, a sports centre, a sports hall, tennis courts, a library of 35000 items and an assembly hall seating 330; it has its own kitchen, a medical room with a nurse and more than 20 bus routes. The school publishes its fees itself, monthly, in euros.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 761–11 275 a year
687–998 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Pearson Edexcel · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
1 year · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Languages taught
French, German
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees The school publishes its fees itself, monthly, in euros, for the 2026-2027 school year: Baby Caxton 687 euros a month (with an option to pay through the regional nursery voucher), Nursery and Reception 842 euros, primary Year 1-6: 888 euros, Key Stage 3 (Year 7-9) 948 euros, Key Stage 4 (Year 10-11) 981 euros, Sixth Form (Year 12-13) 998 euros a month. From Nursery upwards lunch is included in the fee. For children under 3 the school takes part in the regional Bono Infantil 2026-2027 support programme. The fee page does not state how many monthly payments make up the year; the detailed tables are given as files.
Admissions The school takes both Spanish and international pupils: in the section about itself it says it offers its education to Spanish and international students, and its community counts more than 45 nationalities. The school advises contacting the admissions team at least a year before the start date. The procedure: an enquiry, a visit to the school in person or online, an online pre-registration with the identity documents of the parents and the child and the reports for the last two years; places are offered in order of application, and if none is free the child goes on a waiting list. For Nursery an interview of the family with the school psychologist is compulsory, for Reception with the early years coordinator. From Year 1 to Year 3 the reports for two years are needed, with all subjects of the last year passed, plus a meeting with the coordinator and a reference from the previous school. From Year 4 to Year 6 the CAT4 cognitive test is added, and in secondary school also examinations in mathematics and English. In Year 12 pupils from British schools are admitted on their predicted IGCSE grades without examinations, others sit English and the subjects they want to study at A Level. If the child lives far away, the admission tests can be taken at the current school. Year 10 and Year 12 admit pupils no later than 30 September. An offered place must be accepted within two weeks. The school may decline an application if it considers that the child will not cope with the curriculum or needs support it cannot provide.
Stages and year groups Grades Baby Caxton 1 (age 1) - Year 13 (age 17-18). Early years: Baby Caxton 1 and 2 (ages 1-2), Nursery (age 3) and Reception (age 4); every class has a native English speaker and a Spanish teacher or bilingual assistants. Primary: Key Stage 1 (Year 1-2) and Key Stage 2 (Year 3-6); in Year 6 a one-to-one iPad programme starts. Secondary: Key Stage 3 (Year 7-9) and Key Stage 4 (Year 10-11), with IGCSE and GCSE examinations at the end of Year 11. Sixth Form: Year 12-13, AS and A Level examinations plus the Spanish block of subjects for entry to Spanish universities. The school publishes a table matching British year groups to Spanish stages.
Address Calle Mas del León 5, 46530 Puçol, Valencia
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
BSO · accreditationPearson · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school publishes its results itself. A Level 2026: A*-A 48.92 per cent, A*-B 69.35, A*-C 84.52, A*-E 96.28; a year earlier A*-A was 53.92 per cent. IGCSE and GCSE 2026: grades 9-7 in 66.19 per cent of entries, 9-4 in 98.69 per cent. Spanish university entrance examination 2025-2026: 110 students sat it, the average school-course mark was 8.64 out of 10, and the average entrance mark 11.58 out of 14. At the end of primary school, in the 2025-2026 standardised tests, 99 per cent of pupils were at or above the expected level in science.
Where leavers go: University of Cambridge · Imperial College London · University of Bristol · University of Bath · University of Manchester · University of Chester · UWE Bristol · Le Cordon Bleu London · University of Amsterdam · University of Groningen · University of Twente · Fontys University of Applied Sciences
and others, 25 universities in the school's list in allAccording to the school, 20.75 per cent of the 2025-2026 leavers went to universities abroad, 22 students for the 2026-2027 academic year; in earlier years the share ranged from 17.75 to 30.27 per cent. The others go to Spanish universities: 85 students in 2025-2026, with 58.66 per cent getting their first choice of degree at universities in the Valencian Community.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: The campus covers 42000 square metres. The three-storey secondary building has laboratories, computer, music and art rooms, with an underground car park below it; the primary building has music and computer rooms; there is a separate area for children aged 1-4 with play areas, a children's pool and a psychomotor room. The Caxton Sports Centre has two halls, an indoor heated pool and a fitness room; there is an outdoor semi-Olympic pool; a sports hall with an indoor basketball court opened in November 2024; a covered multi-sport area; two 8-a-side football pitches with artificial turf; an outdoor basketball court; two tennis courts with a GreenSet surface; a padel court. The William Caxton library holds 35000 items, the assembly hall seats 330, and there is an amphitheatre, a chapel, vegetable gardens and 480 trees. There is the school's own kitchen and a separate kitchen for special diets, with several dining rooms by age. There is a medical room. More than 20 bus routes serve Valencia, its suburbs and the province of Castellón.
Clubs and activities: Basketball · Football · Swimming · Tennis · Padel · Karate · Fitness · Ballet (Ballet Academy) · Art Academy · Music School · Choir · Theatre · School newspaper · Debating · Robotics · Set Club · ALOHA (mental math) · Artificial intelligence · German · French · Chinese · Spanish · English C1
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
In summer the school runs camps for children both from Caxton and from other schools: in July for ages 2-18 and in the last week of June for ages 4-15. Language camps in English, German, French and Spanish, with an option of an intensive course and preparation for official examinations; a Discovery Camp for English-speaking children; a Sport Camp in basketball, tennis, football and swimming with the coaches of the school club; in June an Olympics and Athletics Camp. A separate Summer Abroad office helps choose a language trip abroad. During the holidays a school bus runs from Valencia. The camp page gives no prices.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
More than 400 people work at the school. Among the teachers 72 per cent are British and 8 per cent come from other English-speaking countries, and they teach the British curriculum; 20 per cent are Spanish and teach the Spanish part of the curriculum. The head is Marta Gil, the primary school is led by Barbara Stenhouse and the secondary school by Sheryl Howells. In the early years classes native English and Spanish speakers work together, joined weekly by physical education and music teachers. There are coordinators for special educational needs in the primary and secondary schools, a speech therapist, occupational therapists and clinical psychologists. The school does not state class sizes or the pupil to teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
Child protection is led by the head, who holds full designated safeguarding lead training; there is a lead each in the primary and secondary schools and four deputies, plus six wellbeing coordinators, three each in primary and secondary. The school publishes a pupil protection and wellbeing policy, an anti-bullying policy, behaviour rules, a health and safety policy and a complaints procedure. On hiring, candidates' backgrounds are checked, including by international checks, and a single central record of staff checks is kept. The medical room is staffed by a nurse, and a family doctor visits once a week; the school is equipped with automated defibrillators and all staff are trained to use them. Every school bus carries an escort from the school. The school mentions no video surveillance and no security guards.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data95 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country