← Back to homeCampus Wien West

Vienna, Austria · Private
Illustration · Vienna
Campus Wien West is an IB school in Vienna's 14th district run by a non-profit association, Bildungseinrichtung Campus Wien West (gemeinnütziger Verein), whose board works unpaid. In practice it is the upper stage (Sekundarstufe 2) of the Montessori school Montessori Campus Wien Hütteldorf, which describes itself as «Sekundarstufe 2/IB-World School® (10. - 12. Schulstufe): Linzer Straße 430, 1140 Wien», and admissions are handled by the heads of its Sekundarstufe 2. The school aims to guide students in the Montessori way all the way to the IB Diploma; they are prepared «zweisprachig in Deutsch und Englisch» (bilingually in German and English). The programme lasts two years and can be entered no earlier than after grade 10; for students in grade 9, Montessori Campus Wien runs a separate Pre-IB year. Besides the IB, graduates of the Montessori school receive a Montessori-Diplomzeugnis. Two weeks of each school year are given to theatre, in the first year of the upper stage every student finds and completes an internship, the first week of the year is traditionally spent in the wilderness, and «Make a Difference» projects form the backbone of the year. The school also takes external students for IB re-takes in November.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $11 049 a year
978 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Languages of instruction
German, English
About the fees Montessori Campus Wien publishes the fee for Sekundarstufe 2 (grades 10-12, IB): «Schulgeld 978,- EUR pro Monat» (978 euros a month), all prices subject to indexation. It does not say how many months a year are paid.
Admissions Admission looks at previous school reports and includes an interview, with tests in German, English and mathematics where needed. It assesses subject, social and personal competences, motivation and willingness to engage beyond academics. The IB programme can be entered no earlier than after grade 10; grade 9 students can first join the Pre-IB year at Montessori Campus Wien. External IB graduates are accepted for November re-takes.
Stages and year groups A two-year IB Diploma Programme for 16-19-year-olds: six subjects from the groups first language, foreign language, social sciences, natural sciences, mathematics and the arts, plus the Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge and CAS. According to the Montessori Campus Wien page: two mathematics courses at different levels, first language, Visual Arts or a second language (English or Spanish), Biology or ESS, History or ESS. Graduates receive an IB-Diplomzeugnis and a Montessori-Diplomzeugnis. The school does not offer the Austrian Matura.
Address Linzer Straße 430, 1140 Wien
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school. It is the upper stage of Montessori Campus Wien Hütteldorf, which names the Linzer Straße 430 address as its IB school; admissions are run by its office.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results Montessori Campus Wien writes that its students «seit Jahren nicht nur zu mehr als 98 % ihr IB-Diplom bestehen» (for years more than 98 percent have passed the IB Diploma) and regularly score more than 40 points in every cohort.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school names its IB coordinator and two pedagogical heads; it does not publish its teaching staff, their number or class sizes. Teachers, the school says, accompany students as coaches and treat continuous professional development as a matter of course.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country