← Back to homeInternational Highschool Herzogberg

Perchtoldsdorf, Austria · Private
Illustration · Perchtoldsdorf
International Highschool Herzogberg is a small international school in Perchtoldsdorf, on the southern edge of Vienna by the Vienna Woods. It teaches grades 7-12: the International Junior Highschool (grades 7-9) on the Austrian AHS and NMS curriculum, with English already a language of instruction, and the International Highschool (grades 10-12). Grade 10 follows the curriculum of an Oberstufenrealgymnasium mit kreativem Schwerpunkt (upper secondary school with a creative focus), and in grades 11-12 students take the IB Diploma; the school calls itself an "offizielle IB world school". Subjects are taught in English or German. In the junior school students run their own micro farm with a farm shop, travel to the UK or Spain once a year and do much theatre and project work; in the upper school they can focus on sciences or on arts and culture. The school is run by the association Pädagogisches Zentrum am Sonnberg.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
English, German
Admissions The school admits students of any nationality: "StudentInnen aller Nationen, Hintergründe, Geschlechter und Religionen" are "herzlichst an unserer Schule willkommen" (students of all nations, backgrounds, sexes and religions are warmly welcome). The upper school requires good English, a high academic level and self-discipline. Admission includes an interview with the applicant and parents, trial days at the school, tests in mathematics, English and German, a motivation letter and an interview with two teachers. Application documents: registration form, medical form and a teacher recommendation.
Stages and year groups Grades 7-12. International Junior Highschool covers grades 7-9 (ages 12-15) on the Austrian AHS and NMS curriculum and fulfils compulsory schooling in Austria. International Highschool covers grades 10-12: grade 10 follows the "Oberstufenrealgymnasium mit kreativem Schwerpunkt" curriculum, and grades 11-12 the IB Diploma with six subjects chosen from German, English, mathematics, Spanish, chemistry, biology, history and Visual Arts, plus academic writing and about 120 hours of community service. The school states that the programme "endet mit der Allgemeinen Universitätsreife" (ends with general university entrance qualification); the site lists no separate Austrian Matura.
Address Herzogbergstrasse 230, 2380 Perchtoldsdorf
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school. Up to year 10 pupils follow the Austrian curriculum, and the IB runs in years 11 and 12.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Campus: A 14000 m² site by the Vienna Woods and a new 960 m² timber building with a 15-place laboratory and a workshop.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median76 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country