Home · Andorra · Andorra la Vella
← Back to home

Col·legi Sant Ermengol

Andorra Andorra la Vella, Andorra · est. 1966 · Private
Illustration · Andorra la Vella
69.7#7 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Col·legi Sant Ermengol is a Catholic private school of the Spanish education system in Andorra la Vella, from Educació Infantil to Batxillerat. It was founded by the Bishop of Urgell and Co-Prince of Andorra Ramon Iglesias Navarri (founding act of 1965) and opened in October 1966 with 70 students. For fifty years it was run by the Salesians, and since 2016 by the «Institut de les Germanes de la Sagrada Família d'Urgell» (Sisters of the Holy Family of Urgell). The school stands on Roc de Sant Pere; a covered heated pool has operated since 1981, and the youngest children study in the separate Falgueró building. Lessons are taught in Catalan: the whole website, the application form and letters to families are in Catalan, and in the ESO textbook list for the 2026-2027 school year mathematics, biology and physics are in Catalan, with only «Lengua castellana y literatura» in Spanish; in Batxillerat some textbooks are Spanish. In 2023 the school received the «Escola Multilingüe» (multilingual school) certificate and prepares students, optionally, for Cambridge, DELF and DALF, DELE and Goethe exams. The school runs an ISO 9001 quality system.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Spanish programme
Admits from
2.5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Catalan
Languages taught
Spanish, English, French, German
School website
About the fees Tuition is free for families: the school is funded by the Government of Andorra. The school itself names no tuition fee; the Spanish Ministry of Education, describing the education system in Andorra, names only Agora International School and The British College of Andorra as fee-paying.
Admissions Parents or guardians apply in person at the school office during the pre-registration period set by the Government of Andorra (usually February and March). The application must include a copy of the student's Andorran passport or DNI and/or a copy of the residence permit («permís de residència»), from Primària on the latest school report; for Batxillerat a certificate of the average grade for 1r-3r d'ESO «o cursos equivalents d'altres sistemes educatius» (or equivalent years in other education systems). The form asks for nationality and home language. If applications exceed places, admission criteria apply; the order of submission does not affect admission. Admitted students complete enrolment at the school office and then register it with the Government or parish Tràmits service.
Stages and year groups Grades Infantil (2,5-5 anys), Primària 1r-6è, ESO 1r-4t, Batxillerat 1r-2n. The school is officially authorised for two classes per year in the second cycle of Educació Infantil, two in Primària, two in ESO, and Batxillerat in «Ciències, Tecnologia, Humanitats, Ciències Socials i Arts» (science, technology, humanities, social sciences and arts; arts since the 2025-2026 school year). The youngest class is for children aged 2,5. Infantil is in the Falgueró building, Primària, ESO and Batxillerat in the Fundacional building.
Address C/ Les Canals, 86, AD500 Andorra la Vella

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

MEFPD
Spain's state register of schools lists the school in its "abroad" section as a private Spanish school (Centro Privado Español en el Extranjero, code 60000906): the Spanish curriculum and the Spanish certificate.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

MEFPDMinistry of Education, Vocational Training and Sports of Spain

A school of the Spanish education system abroad: run by the Spanish state, or a private Spanish school supervised by the ministry, or a school under an agreement with the ministry. The curriculum is Spanish, and leavers receive the Spanish certificate. Every such school is named in Spain's state register of schools, each with its own code.

What the badge means for this school. This is a Spanish school abroad, and that can be checked in Spain's state register. The entry is not a quality inspection: a school is on the register as part of the Spanish system, not as the outcome of an assessment. The curriculum and the certificate are Spanish. What other programmes the school offers, and what it charges, are on its own website. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Spanish programme

The state school programme of Spain, with the Spanish certificates: ESO at 16 and the Bachiller after the baccalaureate.

What this means for this school. The programme is set by the Spanish Ministry of Education, which also names the school in its state register of schools, in the "abroad" section. Leavers receive Spanish qualifications: the Graduado en ESO after secondary school and the título de Bachiller after the baccalaureate. They are used for entry to Spanish universities; in other countries they are matched to local ones.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming poolCovered heated pool, since 1981.
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓LaboratoriesLaboratory and computer room.
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓LibraryLibrary on the first floor of the Fundacional building.
✓CateringCanteen with its own kitchen and a separate Infantil canteen, menus checked by a dietetics centre; 99 € a month, 10 months from September to June.
✓School transportOn Wednesdays and Fridays after lunch, a school bus for ESO and Batxillerat students who stay for lunch.
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: One site on Roc de Sant Pere: the Fundacional building (Primària, ESO, Batxillerat), the Falgueró building (Infantil, since 1996), an annex, a chapel.
Source: ermengol.ad

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The 2026-2027 staff pages list by name 104 people with work addresses: management, stage heads, the SAPP psycho-pedagogical service, school climate and wellbeing leads, Infantil class teachers and 7 teaching assistants, English, French, music, psychomotor and swimming and STEAM specialists, ESO and Batxillerat subject teachers by department, «Formació andorrana» (Andorran curriculum) teachers and a pool lifeguard. In ESO each class has two tutors.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a «Servei d'Assessorament Psicopedagògic» (SAPP, psycho-pedagogical service), «Convivència i Benestar» (school climate and wellbeing) leads for each stage, and a mediation service of teachers and students for conflicts, including verbal and physical abuse and threats. The school keeps a «Pla de Convivència» (school climate plan), a «Pla Emergència» (emergency plan) and a «Pla d'Igualtat» (equality plan), and the website has an incident reporting form. Mobile phones are banned on school grounds, and a lifeguard is on duty at the pool.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Col·legi Sagrada FamíliaEscaldes-Engordany · 68.5The British College of AndorraAndorra la Vella · 72.6Col·legi Mare JanerSanta Coloma · 66.6Colegio Español María Moliner (Infantil y Primaria)Escaldes-Engordany · 73.6