Home · Portugal · Lisbon
← Back to home

Colégio de S. Tomás

Португалия Lisbon, Portugal · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Lisbon
72.4#16 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

This Catholic school in Lisbon, founded in 2003 by the APECEF association, takes a child from the preschool stage at 3 through three cycles to its own lyceum. Lessons are in Portuguese: the pages for families, the admission procedure and the description of the programme are written in Portuguese, Portuguese stands in the timetable as a core subject alongside mathematics, and English is given daily as a separate subject from the preschool stage. From the second cycle the timetable adds Latin and either German or Mandarin, and in the lyceum Latin and Greek. On the A Level line the school teaches physics, biology and mathematics. School life includes a debating competition, a science fair, theatre, choirs, assemblies, internships, study trips, missions and the S. Tomás clubs, among them a writers' club and a science club. The school's lyceum came 1st in the ranking of the national philosophy examinations for 2018. The school keeps two sites: Quinta das Conchas with the full set of stages and Sete Rios with the preschool stage and the first cycle. Tuition under the 2024-2025 price list is paid in 10 instalments from September to June: from 544.50 euros a month at the preschool stage to 672 euros in the lyceum. APECEF has undertaken to keep at least one tenth of its pupils on scholarships.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $6 325–7 807 a year
544.5–672 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Portuguese
Languages taught
English, German, Chinese, Latin, Greek
School website
About the fees Under the school's price list for the 2024-2025 school year tuition is paid in 10 instalments from September to June and comes to 544.50 euros a month at the preschool stage, 577.50 in the first cycle, 592 in the second, 605 in the third and 672 euros in the lyceum. Tuition for the 2025-2026 school year is set out by the school in a separate document, which did not open for reading.
Admissions Admission runs in four steps: pre-registration through the school's own system, a meeting at which the school presents its programme to the family, then an interview of the pedagogical leadership with the parents and the child and, if both sides agree, enrolment at the school office. A pre-registration is valid for one year, and of documents the school asks for the application form and the child's identity card. Some pupils are kept on scholarships given to children from families without means: the APECEF association has undertaken to admit at least one tenth of its pupils on a scholarship.
Stages and year groups The preschool stage from 3, the first, second and third cycles and the S. Tomás lyceum; the Sete Rios site holds the preschool stage and the first cycle, the Quinta das Conchas site all stages up to the lyceum.
Address Av. Maria Helena Vieira da Silva 39, 1750-184 Lisboa

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school's lyceum came 1st in the ranking of the national philosophy examinations for 2018.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Two sites in Lisbon. The main one, Quinta das Conchas, stands directly against the southern edge of the park of the same name, 350 metres from the metro station, and holds the stages from preschool to the lyceum. The second, Sete Rios, stands at the metro exit towards the zoo next to the city coach terminal and holds the preschool stage and the first cycle.
Clubs and activities: Writers' club · Science club · Theatre · Choir · Debating competition · Science fair

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
76
Value for money (6%)
82
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Colégio Luso Internacional de BragaBraga · 72.4Colégio Júlio DinisPorto · 72.4Oporto British SchoolPorto · 72.6PaRK International SchoolAmadora · 72.6