Home · Spain · Madrid
← Back to home

Colegio de Nuestra Señora del Recuerdo

Spain Madrid, Spain · est. 1880 · Private
Illustration · Madrid
75.0#88 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Colegio de Nuestra Señora del Recuerdo is a Jesuit school in the Chamartín district of Madrid, opened on 24 September 1880 on the "El Recuerdo" estate: the land was given to the Society of Jesus by the Dukes of Pastrana on condition that a school be set up there. The school continues the Madrid tradition of Jesuit colleges begun in 1572 by the Imperial College, follows Ignatian pedagogy and calls its task "to form men and women for others". Its nursery, primary school and ESO are concertado, that is, they work under an agreement with Madrid, while the bachillerato is private: the national one and the International Baccalaureate diploma, for which the school holds 60 places and takes both its own and outside students. Teaching is in Spanish; English starts at three, in primary school science, arts and English are taught in English, French can be taken from the first year of ESO and Latin from the fourth. The school publishes its external exam results: in 2024-25, 186 students sat the university entrance exam and all passed, with an average of 8.03, and IB leavers had an average converted grade of 8.49. The school has a large library, one of the oldest children's choirs in Spain, the Escolanía del Recuerdo founded in 1961, a compulsory social service in the first year of bachillerato, a medical office and a psycho-pedagogical office. After-school activities are run by the school's Fundación Cultural y Deportiva Recuerdo: sport, music, art and camps.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish
Languages taught
English, French, Latin
School website
Summer camp
Yes
Admissions For the concertado stages - nursery, primary school and ESO - admission follows the general procedure of the Comunidad de Madrid: applications for 2026-27 were submitted from 11 to 25 March 2026 at the school or through the virtual secretariat, and places and points are calculated by the Raíces system. For the bachillerato the school admits students itself. The IB diploma has 60 places for its own students and students from other schools; one can apply after the fourth year of ESO or an equivalent year in another country, and there is no minimum grade. Candidates from other schools have an interview, and the final score combines achievement over the last three years and the interview; a transfer directly into the second year of the diploma is possible if places are free. For higher level English a level of about B2 is advised, for French about B1, and Spanish should allow the student to follow lessons at a normal pace; the school promises support to candidates who need help with Spanish. The school does not refuse on grounds of religion but expects respect for its Catholic character. The decision is announced at the beginning of April; students with financial difficulties in the IB may be helped by the Fundación Pastrana.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery from age 3 - 2nd year of bachillerato (to age 18). Stages: nursery from age three, primary school, ESO and bachillerato; the first three are concertado, the bachillerato is private. The bachillerato has two paths: the national one with a choice of tracks and the IB diploma, 60 places, six subjects, three at higher and three at standard level, Spanish A, English or French B, the extended essay, theory of knowledge and CAS; some students take Business Management in English and receive the bilingual diploma. In the first year of bachillerato social service is part of the curriculum. Nursery and primary start at 9:00, with morning lessons until 13:30 and afternoon lessons from 15:00.
Address Plaza Duque de Pastrana 5, 28036 Madrid (Chamartín)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeFundación Educativa Jesuitas · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Fundación Educativa Jesuitasschool network

The name Fundación Educativa Jesuitas (FEJE) covers three regional foundations of the Society of Jesus set up in 2023: FEJE Noroeste (10 schools in Galicia, Asturias and Castile and León), FEJE Norte (8 schools in Cantabria, the Basque Country, Navarre and La Rioja) and FEJE Centro-Este (9 schools in Aragon, Madrid, the Valencian Community and the Balearic Islands). They belong to the wider network of Jesuit schools in Spain, Educación Jesuitas (Educsi), together with the SAFA, Loyola, Fundació Jesuïtes Educació and Radio ECCA foundations. Educsi gives different figures for the whole network on its own pages - 70 centres on one, 69 in-person centres on another - and we quote both; the same pages cite more than 80,000 in-person students and almost 40,000 in distance learning. All the schools are co-educational, and each has at least some stages state-funded under agreement. The network's site is educacionjesuitas.org, and the regional foundations have their own sites, such as fejenorte.com and fejecentroeste.com.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school itself publishes its external exam results for 2024-25: 186 students sat the university entrance exam, all passed, with an average of 8.03 out of 10 and a best result of 13.750; IB diploma leavers had an average converted grade of 8.49 out of 10, with a best of 14. Sixth-year primary pupils take Cambridge exams: 95 reached level B1, 31 A2, 17 B2, 7 A1. The school also takes part in Madrid regional exams and in PISA, with reading scores of 542 and 543.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school is on Plaza Duque de Pastrana in Chamartín, in buildings built by 1959. The library has more than 45000 books and ten journal subscriptions, the general room for ESO and bachillerato is open Monday to Thursday until 21:00, and there is a children's room, e-readers and sections in English and French. It has its own canteen with menus and diets and the Aula Magna assembly hall; after-school activities take place at the facilities of the school foundation.
Clubs and activities (16): Chess · Drama · Ceramics · Sewing and needlework · Dance · Escolanía del Recuerdo · French · German · Music school · Sports school · Athletics · Basketball · Handball · Football · Volleyball · E-Twinning
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
Among sports and outdoor activities the school foundation lists camps; there are no dates, ages or price on the school's website.
Source: recuerdo.net

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not publish the number of its teachers. Its documents name the director Father Antonio España, the head of studies and of the foreign languages department, the director of the bachillerato, the head of the Spanish department, the IB diploma coordinator and the librarian. The school has a school guidance department, and the first-year bachillerato social service is accompanied by about one hundred and thirty volunteer teachers and parents.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a medical office and a psycho-pedagogical office, both part of its paid services, and a morning reception and supervision service. Against bullying there is a separate section "Para el acoso. Cuéntalo. Podemos ayudar" with a form to contact the school and helpline numbers, and with the Society of Jesus the school runs the "Entorno seguro" safe environment programme. It publishes the Society of Jesus code of conduct, a coexistence plan, internal regulations and a channel for reporting misconduct.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
67
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

St. George MadridMadrid · 75Colegio Internacional Pureza de María Los RealejosLos Realejos · 75Elian's British School of La NucíaLa Nucia · 74.9Colegio Hispano BritánicoTías · 74.9