← Back to homeColegio Compañía de María Almería

Almeria, Spain · Private
Illustration · Almeria
Colegio Compañía de María Almería is a school of the women's order of the same name in the centre of Almería, on the Rambla Obispo Orberá. The order has run schools for four centuries, and the school says so directly: "416 years of teaching". It has all four stages, preschool, primary, secondary and upper secondary, and about the preschool it says that learning happens not only in the classroom: a school vegetable garden, multi-purpose classrooms, a psychomotor hall, playgrounds and libraries. Lessons are in Spanish, and since 2012 the school calls itself bilingual: part of the non-language subjects are taught in English, there are native-speaker language assistants, exchanges with Canada and cooperation with official Cambridge University examination centres. The main thing a parent looking for IB here needs to know: no IB programme is named on the school's website. Its upper-stage page quotes the text of the IB mission statement, but without the name of a programme, and a separate "Bachillerato Internacional" page on the domain does not open at all: the server returns 404. That is why the IB record in this listing is a candidate one rather than an authorised programme.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
Admissions The school does not set out the admission and enrolment procedure for the preschool, primary and secondary stages itself: it works within the general Andalusian enrolment system and on its admissions page refers to the portal of the Junta de Andalucía, where procedures and deadlines are described. For questions the school gives the telephone number of its office and invites families to open days. About children from abroad, the documents they need and knowledge of Spanish the school says nothing, and it does not write separately about admission to the upper stage.
Address Rambla Obispo Orberá 35
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school names a school garden, multi-purpose rooms, a psychomotor room, courtyards and libraries - and stresses that learning also happens outside the classroom.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median74 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country