Home · Spain · Teruel
← Back to home

IES Vega del Turia

Spain Teruel, Spain · est. 1845 · State
Illustration · Teruel
66.3#319 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

IES Vega del Turia is a state secondary school in the centre of Teruel and the oldest educational institution in the town: it opened on 22 December 1845 as the Provincial de Teruel with 96 pupils and took the name "Vega del Turia" only in 2008, replacing the earlier "José Ibáñez Martín". It now has more than a thousand students across all stages at once: four years of ESO, bachillerato in two lines - science and technology, and humanities and social sciences - evening and distance bachillerato for adults, and a large block of vocational cycles, mostly in health care: nursing assistance, pharmacy, emergency health services, dental hygiene, diagnostic imaging, and clinical and biomedical laboratory work. English runs as a bilingual itinerary under the BRIT-Aragón programme: small groups, a native-speaker assistant once a week, and subjects taught in English that change by year - art and mathematics in the first year of ESO, technology, physics and chemistry in the second and third, mathematics and geography with history in the fourth. French sits in the same BRIT programme, and some vocational cycles have a bilingual option with one module in English. Since November 2021 the school has run the Aúna support programme: lessons outside school hours for ESO students whose study habits are not holding, funded by the European Social Fund. The school is setting up the IB Diploma Programme right now: its own programme website keeps a chronicle of the application, and the school calls itself an applicant, not an authorised school.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English, French
Languages taught
German
School website
Admissions Admission to the Diploma Programme is set out in a separate policy. The requirements are an ESO certificate with no failed subjects and an average of at least "notable", a recommended English level of B2, a particular set of subjects taken in the fourth year of ESO, and personal maturity. A candidate who passes the academic screening goes on to an interview. Entry to the other stages follows the general rules of the Aragón state system; vocational cycles have their own application campaign. For the Diploma: the minimum score for entry is 7 out of 10, from the sum of fourth-year ESO marks and the interview, which is scored out of 6; each of the three pathways has 8 places (if one is undersubscribed places can move to another, from 6 to 9), and ties are decided by the interview score, the number of top grades and priority for pupils from Teruel and Aragon. Registration for 2026-2027 ran from 3 to 22 June; a pupil who finished ESO at another school must also go through the general Aragon allocation process. The school does not write about foreigners or citizenship.
Stages and year groups Grades 1º ESO - 2º Bachillerato, vocational cycles and adult bachillerato. The school has four stages: four years of ESO with bilingual itineraries in English and French; bachillerato in two lines, inside which the IB Diploma Programme unfolds along three itineraries - social, biomedical and scientific-technical; evening and distance bachillerato for adults over eighteen; and vocational cycles at basic, intermediate and higher level. The weekly load for Diploma Programme students is 31-34 hours, of which three hours of theory of knowledge and CAS sit outside the lesson timetable.
Address C/ Víctor Pruneda, 1, 44001 Teruel

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: Two buildings and a yard with courts for basketball, five-a-side football and volleyball, a pelota wall, a sports pavilion and table-tennis tables. Building A houses the management offices, staff rooms and the departments of technology, guidance, classics, fine art, mathematics and social sciences.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school names no psychologist of its own; there is a guidance department with two specialists and consultation hours by prior appointment.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Aquinas American SchoolPozuelo de Alarcon · 66.3IES CastillaGuadalajara · 66.3Colegio Compañía de María AlmeríaAlmeria · 66.3IES do CastroVigo · 66.3