Create Schools is a private bilingual international school in Tutzing on Lake Starnberg near Munich, for grades 1 to 12. In primary (grades 1-4, combined classes 1-2 and 3-4) the curriculum is based on the Bavarian curriculum, with lessons in English and German alternating weekly. In grades 5-10 the school combines Cambridge, the NAACE curriculum and the Bavarian curriculum, lessons are in English or German, and at the end of grade 10 students take Cambridge IGCSE exams, which the school describes as equivalent to the German secondary school certificate. In grades 10-12 Create College prepares students for Cambridge AS and A Level in English; since autumn 2026 the college has been at Schloss Fußberg in Gauting. Classes are small, no more than 12-14 students, each class has its own mentor teacher, teaching is largely project based, and lessons start at 10 am. For families living abroad or moving often there is the Create Anywhere online A Level programme with in-person weeks. In 2024 the school celebrated its tenth anniversary.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Languages of instruction
English, German
Class size
no more than 12-14 students per class; about 12 in primary
Registration fee
≈ $56
50 EUR
About the fees Annual tuition on the admissions page (no school year stated): grades 1-9 16536 EUR, Create College 18000 EUR; payable in two instalments or monthly. The school notes there may be additional costs during the year depending on grade, academic assistance needed and before and after school programmes. Partial means-tested bursaries are available but not guaranteed; families from Tutzing have priority.
Admissions Admission steps: online application with a 50 EUR fee, after which the school contacts the family; shortlisted applicants and parents are invited to an assessment session with the leadership team (300 EUR plus VAT); at Create College placement is determined by assessments. After successful admission the place is secured with a 3000 EUR sign-on fee. The admissions pages do not say whom the school accepts, such as international students or children without German. Partial means-tested bursaries give priority to children from Tutzing.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-12. Foundation School - grades 1-4 (combined classes 1-2 and 3-4), based on the Bavarian curriculum, lessons in English and German alternating weekly. High School - grades 5-10: a blend of Cambridge, NAACE and the Bavarian curriculum, lessons in English or German; Cambridge IGCSE exams at the school at the end of grade 10. Create College - grades 10-12 (ages 16-19): Cambridge AS and A Level in English, language subjects in the target language; subjects: Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Art and Design, Sociology, German, English, Literature, Economics, Psychology, Computer Science, History. The school is a Cambridge exam centre together with CreateWay Education in Gauting. The school does not offer the German Abitur. The online A Level option is Create Anywhere.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE, AS and A Level.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Model United Nations · Duke of Edinburgh Award · Math Academy
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The faculty page names 18 teachers and three administrative staff, including the two founders, the director and the principal. Each class has a permanent mentor teacher. German and Spanish as second languages are taught by dedicated teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 Value for money (6%) scored at the median84 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country