Home · Spain · Murcia
← Back to home

El Limonar International School Murcia

Spain Murcia, Spain · est. 1990 · Private
Illustration · Murcia
77.8#30 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

El Limonar International School Murcia has been running since 1990 and follows a British international curriculum for children from 3 to 18, combining it with the Spanish one: leavers receive British IGCSEs and the Spanish ESO certificate at secondary level, and the Spanish bachillerato and International A Levels at the senior stage. Eighty per cent of the school day is in English, and the school says plainly that it does not teach English but teaches in English. A third language - German, French or Chinese - is chosen from Year 6. The school is spread over two campuses: Buenavista in El Palmar, 63000 square metres and six buildings, for the kindergarten and primary school, and the new Montevida in La Alberca, 15000 square metres, for secondary and sixth form. The school publishes its 2026 results: at IGCSE 94 per cent achieved five grades of 4 or above, and at A Level 53 per cent of grades were A* and A. From Year 9 to Year 13 pupils take the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award, there is a school of music, and in summer day camps for children aged 3 to 17, open to pupils of other schools as well. Fees are stated monthly, from 780 to 1030 euros depending on the year group.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $8 812–11 636 a year
780–1 030 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Languages taught
German, French, Chinese
School website
Registration fee
≈ $1 695
1 500 EUR
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 are stated as monthly sums by year group: Nursery and Reception - 780 euros a month; Year 1 and Year 2 - 860; Year 3-6 - 935; Year 7-11 - 1015; Year 12-13 - 1030 euros a month. The school does not say how many such payments there are in a year; paying for the ten months of the school year, September to June, as it counts lunch, the year comes to between 7800 euros in the kindergarten and 10300 euros in Year 12-13. The one-off registration fee for new pupils is 1500 euros and is not refundable. Lunch is compulsory to the end of Year 11 and costs 185 euros a month from September to June; from Year 12 pupils may bring their own food. Transport is charged by route. Examination fees, textbooks and uniform are not included in the fee and are set out in separate sections.
Admissions Admission runs in seven steps: a conversation with the admissions officer about the child and the availability of places; a visit to the school on an open day or by private appointment - virtual options exist too; an application for a place; then, depending on age, either an informal assessment of English or a taster day, and an interview with the headteacher. After a successful assessment the school makes a formal, time-limited offer; the family accepts it, completes the admissions booklet, submits the documents and pays the enrolment fee. The school names no special conditions for foreign pupils - homologation of documents or knowledge of Spanish; the entry assessment concerns English.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery (age 3) - Year 13, ages 3 to 18. The stages run right through: Early Years from 3 to 5 - Nursery and Reception; Primary from 5 to 11, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2; Secondary from 11 to 16, with Key Stage 3 as Years 7-9 on a broad British curriculum and Key Stage 4 as Years 10-11 with compulsory IGCSE subjects in English and Spanish language and culture in Spanish, plus optional subjects; Sixth Form from 16 to 18, International A-Levels alongside the Spanish baccalaureate. Year 7 and Year 8 pupils are taught in a separate Galileo Middle School building on the Buenavista campus so that the move to the Montevida campus is gentler.
Address Colonia Buenavista s/n, 30120 El Palmar, Murcia

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationPearson · authorised programmeCognita · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Cognitaschool network

A group of schools launched in 2004; the legal entity in the footer of the site is Cognita Holdings Limited. The site names 90 schools in 21 countries, 14 curricula and more than 22,000 staff, and the numbers agree on all the pages read. The section on a school joining the group speaks of working with the owners of schools and of integrating the school, but does not say outright whether the school passes into ownership; the word "franchise" does not appear on the site. The majority owner of Cognita itself is named as Jacobs Holding AG.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

A* and A at IGCSE
94%
A* and A grades
53%
Exam results IGCSE 2026: 94 per cent of pupils achieved five grades of 4 or above, including English and mathematics, and 56 per cent grades of 7 and above. A Level 2026: 100 per cent passed at A* to E, 86 per cent at A* to C and 53 per cent at A* and A. The final Spanish mark of the 2026 leavers, combining A Level and Spanish subject exams: an average of 11.243 out of 14, a best of 14 out of 14, 52 per cent between 10 and 12 and 17 per cent between 12 and 14.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: Two campuses. Buenavista in El Palmar - 63000 square metres and six buildings, including a new multi-purpose examination and assembly hall, a 2015 building for Early Years and Key Stage 1, a separate Galileo Middle School block for Years 7-8, IT rooms, science laboratories, art rooms and drama and music studios; outdoors there is an open-air amphitheatre, tennis and padel courts, a swimming pool, and pitches and play areas by age group. Montevida in La Alberca - 15000 square metres for secondary and sixth form with the same provision: IT rooms, laboratories, art rooms, theatre and music studios, an amphitheatre, courts, a pool and pitches. Every classroom has digital panels and individual tablets and laptops. The canteen is the school's own, with its own kitchen; the menu is run by the head chef and checked by a nutritionist, and there are vegetarian and gluten-free menus and meals for medical needs.
Clubs and activities: Taekwondo · Robotics · Football · Classical dance · Spanish dance · Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Music school
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
In summer 2026 the school runs several day programmes open to all children. Lemon Club - from 29 June to 3 July for ages 3-10, from 9:00 to 17:00, English, music and water play on the Buenavista campus, 230 euros, less for school families. Summerlim - from 6 to 31 July for ages 3-11, with a choice of 9:00 to 17:00, to 15:00 or to 14:00: English, the pool, music, robotics, art and excursions, from 235 to 695 euros. Summerteen - the same dates for ages 12-15: English, swimming, paddle sports, workshops and excursions, from 320 to 925 euros. The Barça Academy football camp - from 29 June to 3 July for ages 6-17 on the Montevida campus, 560 euros. In spring there is an Easter sports camp for ages 7-14 at Montevida, entirely in English.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school calls children's safety its first priority and publishes a set of policies: safeguarding and child protection with procedures, anti-bullying, behaviour, pupil supervision and lost or missing children, first aid, health and safety, risk assessment, preventing extremism, mobile phones for the youngest and educational visits. The support team follows every child's progress and steps in when help or, on the contrary, harder work is needed; emotional wellbeing and personal development are set out separately. The school does not name a psychologist, a nurse, security staff or video surveillance.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Colegio Internacional Camarena CanetCanet d'en Berenguer · 77.9Colegio Internacional Ausias MarchPicassent · 77.9King's College School, MurciaTorre-Pacheco · 77.9The British School of BarcelonaCastelldefels · 77.6