Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Fairgreen International School

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
71.8#57 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Fairgreen International School is an IB school in Dubai's Sustainable City, run by the operator Esol Education. It has all four IB programmes - the PYP, the MYP, the Diploma and the career-related CP - plus an early childhood stage, and the route runs from pre-kindergarten to grade twelve. What sets the school apart is not the programme but what it is built around: the campus runs entirely on renewable energy, the school has a sustainability committee of its own and mobile stations for research and food production, and the city around it serves as a teaching ground - a bee garden, garden plots and an equestrian centre are part of lessons. Among its support services the school names a dedicated inclusion team, counselling, and college and career guidance. One important caveat about accreditation: the school writes about it in the future tense - it is only pursuing CIS accreditation and intends to seek MSA accreditation - so it does not yet hold the status of an accredited school.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP · Pearson Edexcel
Languages
English
School website
Stages and year groups Grades pre-kindergarten - grade 12. The school's educational programme runs from pre-kindergarten to grade twelve. The IB stages are early childhood, then the PYP, then the MYP in the secondary school, and then either the IB Diploma or the IB career-related programme.
Address The Sustainable City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · membershipPearson · authorised programmeIB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Makerspace
Campus: A campus in the Sustainable City running entirely on renewable energy, with architecture built around the theme of sustainability. It holds technology-enabled classrooms, laboratories and maker-spaces, mobile research and food production stations, a library and learning hub, and rooms for art and music. The sports complex includes a swimming pool, a large indoor multi-purpose hall with an auditorium, an outdoor soccer field, courts and play areas. Students have access to the infrastructure of the city itself: a bee garden, outdoor garden plots and an equestrian centre.
Source: fairgreen.ae

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a dedicated student support service: counselling, college and career guidance, and a separate inclusion team whose members are named. The school does not name security staff, a nurse or a child protection policy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

GEMS Wellington Academy - Dubai HillsDubai · 71.8RAK Academy - KhuzamRas Al Khaimah · 71.8Al Najah Private SchoolAbu Dhabi · 71.9Cranleigh Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 71.9