Home · UAE · Ras Al Khaimah
← Back to home

RAK Academy - Khuzam

ОАЭ Ras Al Khaimah, UAE · est. 1975 · Private
Illustration · Ras Al Khaimah
71.8#57 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

RAK Academy has been teaching in Ras Al Khaimah since 1975; it is a not-for-profit family of schools, and together they hold more than 2,600 pupils from eighty countries. This card is about its main campus, Khuzam, where more than fifteen hundred pupils run from Pre-K to grade 12. What sets the academy apart is that parents are given a choice of curriculum: the English national one or the IB, and the choice runs right through, in the primary school and in the secondary. Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4 at Khuzam run both routes, and Key Stage 5 - grades 11 and 12 - offers A Levels, the vocational BTEC and the IB Diploma Programme. Early childhood starts at three and is bilingual, in English and Arabic. The Khuzam campus is split between primary and secondary and the school maps it building by building: in the primary, a reception with the administration offices, the upper school library and a canteen on the upper floors, a wing for Pre-K and KG1 with PYP music, art and ICT rooms and grade 3, a wing for KG2 and grades 1 and 2 with the lower primary canteen and a national curriculum music room, grades 4 and 5 with national curriculum art and ICT rooms, a separate building with the lower primary library, a small gym and the school clinic, and a theatre, a football field, a big gym and a basketball court. The enrichment programme is rewritten each year around pupils' interests, and alongside it there are sports teams, a house system and student leadership.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $5 092–12 655 a year
18 700–46 475 AED
Programmes
IB · PYP, DP · Cambridge · A-Level · BTEC
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
About the fees The annual fee in the Khuzam campus table: Pre-K 18,700 dirhams, KG1 24,805, KG2 31,075, grade 1 33,440, grades 2 and 3 at 33,990, grades 4 and 5 at 36,300, grade 6 43,175, grade 7 43,450, grade 8 44,385, grade 9 44,550, grade 10 44,715, grade 11 46,200 and grade 12 46,475. It is paid in three parts, each due two weeks before the term starts, with the first larger than the other two. Each of the academy's other schools - Al Hamra Primary, Al Hamra Secondary and Al Rams - has its own separate fee table. On its fees page the school advertises special lifetime discounts of up to twenty-five per cent.
Admissions Applications go through the school's own online form, alongside pages for booking a tour, questions and answers, and inclusion. Pre-K takes children from the age of three. The academy runs a scholarship programme and, according to its fees page, special lifetime discounts of up to twenty-five per cent.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K from age 3 - grade 12. The stages at Khuzam run straight through from Pre-K to grade 12, and at each of them parents choose between the British curriculum and the IB. Key Stage 3 is grades 6 to 8, Key Stage 4 grades 9 and 10, and Key Stage 5 grades 11 and 12, with three exits from it: A Levels, BTECs and the IB Diploma Programme. Early childhood from the age of three is bilingual, in English and Arabic.
Address Khuzam

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeBSME · part of the association
The Cambridge registration is taken from the registry and it matches the school's own stages page: Key Stage 5 at the Khuzam campus runs A Levels and BTECs. The IB programmes are the school's own claim: it openly offers parents a choice between the British and the IB route at every stage, Key Stage 5 at Khuzam lists the IB Diploma Programme, and the primary school's list of facilities names separate PYP rooms for music, art and ICT. We did not open the IB registry, so there is no IB entry in the card. BSME membership is not entered: that organisation is not yet in our directory. IMPORTANT FOR THE READER: RAK Academy is a family of several schools, and this card describes the Khuzam campus; its other schools - Al Hamra, Al Hamra Secondary and Al Rams - have their own buildings, their own fees and a different set of programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBPYP, DP

The International Baccalaureate: programmes of a Swiss organisation, among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Each stage is authorised separately, so a school may hold one of them, two, or all four. PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

What this means for this school. Authorisation for each stage is granted by the organisation itself after an on-site visit, and a school has to go through it again every few years. Every authorised school in the world stands in the open register at ibo.org, where the status can be checked independently. The IB diploma is awarded by the organisation rather than by the school, and the papers are marked by external examiners, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own school is with them.

BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus:

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
99
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
71
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

GEMS Wellington Academy - Dubai HillsDubai · 71.8Fairgreen International SchoolDubai · 71.8Al Najah Private SchoolAbu Dhabi · 71.9Cranleigh Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 71.9