← Back to homeHorizon English School

Dubai, UAE · est. 1989 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
Horizon English School has been running since 1989 on 30B Street off Al Wasl Road and remains a primary school: it takes children from three to eleven, that is from FS1 to Year 6, and has no secondary stage at all. Admission is non-selective - the school says so plainly. Since 2021 it has been part of the Cognita group. Its facilities are unexpectedly strong for a primary school: two swimming pools, tennis and netball courts, a hybrid grass playing field, a STEM room, a recording studio, libraries, performance spaces and a playground for all pupils. The medical service is its own and fully staffed: a doctor and two nurses, open from 7:15 to 16:00 Monday to Thursday and until noon on Friday. Before- and after-school clubs are wide-ranging: football, basketball, netball, rugby, swimming, art, music and STEM.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $11 940–16 018 a year
43 849–58 825 AED
About the fees The annual fee including the medical charge: 43,849 dirhams in FS1, 52,163 in FS2 and 58,825 from Year 1 to Year 6. The medical charge is included in those figures and is 1,200 dirhams at every stage; the tuition alone is 42,649, 50,963 and 57,625 dirhams respectively. It is paid in three termly instalments.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 6, up to age 11. The school is a primary one and ends with Year 6: the EYFS early years, then Key Stage 1 (lower primary) and Key Stage 2 (upper primary). It has no secondary stage, so after Year 6 a pupil moves to another school.
Address 30B Street off Al Wasl Road, PO Box 6749
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
BSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationCognita · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East
One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Cognitaschool network
A group of schools launched in 2004; the legal entity in the footer of the site is Cognita Holdings Limited. The site names 90 schools in 21 countries, 14 curricula and more than 22,000 staff, and the numbers agree on all the pages read. The section on a school joining the group speaks of working with the owners of schools and of integrating the school, but does not say outright whether the school passes into ownership; the word "franchise" does not appear on the site. The majority owner of Cognita itself is named as Jacobs Holding AG.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: Libraries, a STEM room, two swimming pools, performance spaces, tennis and netball courts, a hybrid grass playing field, a playground for all pupils and a recording studio.
Clubs and activities: Football · Basketball · Netball · Rugby · Swimming · Art · Music · STEM club
Teaching staff
There is no data for this section yet.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has its own medical service, led by a doctor with two nurses in support. The clinic is open from 7:15 to 16:00 Monday to Thursday and from 7:15 to 12:00 on Friday; it occupies the ground floor of the Jamie McMillan Building next to the inclusion department.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country