Ranking · Poland · Walbrzych
← Back to the ranking

I Liceum Ogólnokształcące z Oddziałami Dwujęzycznymi im. Ignacego Paderewskiego w Wałbrzychu

Poland Walbrzych, Poland · est. 1945 · State
Illustration · Walbrzych
74.5#40 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

I Liceum Ogólnokształcące z Oddziałami Dwujęzycznymi im. Ignacego Paderewskiego is a free public four-year secondary school in Wałbrzych; it has operated as a Polish school since October 1945. It recruits a humanities class with media and theatre, a mathematics, physics and computer science class with robotics and 3D printing, a biology and chemistry class, a bilingual class with the Polish matura and a bilingual Pre-DP class preparing for the international baccalaureate. In the Pre-DP class, for the first two years students follow the Polish curriculum together with the IB MYP (year 1 of the liceum is MYP 4, year 2 is MYP 5), study English six hours a week and take geography and computer science in English; the second year ends with the Personal Project. Years 3-4 are the IB Diploma Programme in English; only the Polish A exam is taken in Polish. The school teaches English, German, French, Spanish and Italian. It is a UNESCO Associated School, cooperates with Wrocław University of Science and Technology, the University of Wrocław and the Wrocław University of Environmental and Life Sciences, and runs exchanges with France, Germany and Italy.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
15 years
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Italian
School website
About the fees Tuition is free: this is a public school. The website says nothing about a separate IB exam fee.
Admissions Year 1 admits primary school graduates through the city's NABO electronic system by total points: the eighth-grade exam (up to 100), grades in Polish, mathematics, a foreign language and a profile subject (up to 72), a certificate with distinction, volunteering and competitions. Candidates for the bilingual classes, including the Pre-DP class, also take an English test (up to 100 points, 300 in total); in 2026 candidates registered for the test by phone from 11 April to 8 June. Laureates and finalists of English olympiads and regional competitions are exempt. For the Pre-DP class the profile subjects are Polish, mathematics, a foreign language and history or geography. The school does not write separately about admitting foreign students.
Stages and year groups A four-year general secondary school (liceum ogólnokształcące) with the Polish curriculum and the matura. Profiles for 2026-2027: humanities with theatre and arts, mathematics, physics and computer science with robotics and 3D printing, biology and chemistry with health and ecology, bilingual with the Polish matura (oddział dwujęzyczny) and the bilingual Pre-DP class. Pre-DP class: years 1-2 follow the Polish curriculum plus the IB MYP (MYP 4 and MYP 5) with the Personal Project, English 6 hours a week, geography and computer science in English; years 3-4 take the IB Diploma Programme in English. IB DP subjects: group 1 - Polish or English, group 2 - English, German or French, group 3 - history, geography, psychology, group 4 - biology, chemistry, physics, computer science, group 5 - mathematics AA, group 6 - visual arts or a second subject from groups 2-4; plus TOK, CAS and the Extended Essay. IB exams are taken in May at the school.
Address ul. I.J. Paderewskiego 17, 58-301 Wałbrzych

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · MYP, DP · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes. The IB track runs in the international classes of a Polish liceum: the Diploma in grades 3-4, alongside the Polish curriculum leading to the matura.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: SGH Warsaw School of Economics (SGH)
The school writes that graduates of the bilingual class with the international baccalaureate study in Poland, including on English-taught programmes, and abroad: economics, law, international relations, engineering, philology, medicine, natural sciences, psychology, sociology, journalism and cultural studies; only SGH is named.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: The school describes professionally equipped laboratories, an art studio, a school TV and film studio (cameras, lighting, sound recording, green screen, acoustically treated room), a music studio, a 3D printing and robotics workshop, and a library with an online catalogue.
Clubs and activities: School Theatre · Film Studio · Music Studio · Art Workshop · 3D Printing/Robotics · Pismaki Atakują School Newspaper · Volunteering · Run with Jedynka · Student Council

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The teachers page names the head, three deputy heads, subject teachers, the psychologist, pedagogues and the librarian; a deputy head coordinates the IB MYP and IB DP.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a school psychologist and pedagogues with many years of school experience; the school has joined a programme against youth violence.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
88
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Dwujęzyczna Szkoła Podstawowa ATUTWroclaw · 74.5Liceum Ogólnokształcące z Oddziałami Dwujęzycznymi im. Władysława Jagiełły w PłockuPlock · 74.7Complex of Silesian International SchoolsKatowice · 74.2Prywatne Liceum Ogólnokształcące Leonardo SVSSzczecin · 74.2