Home · Spain · Artà
← Back to home

IES Llorenç Garcías i Font

Spain Artà, Spain · est. 1969 · State
Illustration · Artà
63.6#401 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

IES Llorenç Garcías i Font is a state secondary school in Artà, in the east of Mallorca. It takes pupils mainly from Artà, Colònia de Sant Pere, Sant Llorenç and Son Carrió and offers ESO, Bachillerato in the humanities-social sciences and science tracks, vocational education (basic, intermediate cycles in administration and in physical and sports activities in the natural environment, a higher cycle in organising physical and sports activities) and ESO courses for adults. The school traces its history to 1969, when the Col·legi Lliure Adoptat opened in Artà; the present building has been in use since the end of 1977, and in the 1980-1981 school year the school became a state institute and took the name of the Artà botanist and apothecary Llorenç Garcías i Font. In its words, it has more than 600 pupils. Since the 2004-2005 school year it has run the MEC-British Council integrated curriculum programme, and since 2007-2008 the programme has covered all of ESO: in the programme stream about a third of the hours are in English (biology and geology, social sciences, physics and chemistry, English language and literature) on a special curriculum, with teachers of high English proficiency, a language adviser from the British Council and a native-speaker assistant; at the end of ESO pupils may choose to sit Cambridge IGCSE. Other subjects are taught in Catalan, with Spanish as a separate subject. The school is one of the two in Mallorca selected for the programme, together with the CEIP Na Caragol primary school in Artà. There are Erasmus+ projects and committees on equality and on the reading plan. Its former pupils include the cyclist Enric Mas.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge
Admits from
12 years
Languages of instruction
Catalan, English
Languages taught
Spanish
School website
Students
more than 600
About the fees Tuition at the state institute is free. The school only charges contributions for learning materials and a locker, with the amounts published on the payment page.
Admissions This is a state school: admission follows the general procedure of the Balearic Islands, and for vocational education the regional lists use the pupil's DNI or NIE (NIE is the foreigner's number). Pupils from the CEIP Na Caragol primary school move into the British Council programme by right after an oral interview and an external test in grade 6. Pupils from other schools can join grade 1 of ESO in the programme if places are free and they pass an English entrance test at the end of June; it is also checked that they have no serious gaps in Catalan and Spanish. Only pupils assigned to the institute who have applied for admission may sit the test. In exceptional cases pupils can join the programme in grade 2 of ESO, and they can leave it at any time.
Stages and year groups Grades 1 ESO - 2 Bachillerato (ages 12-18), plus vocational education. ESO from grade 1 to grade 4 in two streams: ordinary and the MEC-British Council programme, where about a third of weekly hours are in English and IGCSE can be taken at the end. Bachillerato in the Humanities and Social Sciences and Science tracks. Vocational education: basic FP in sports facility maintenance, intermediate cycles in administrative management and in physical and sports activities in the natural environment, a higher cycle in organising physical and sports activities; ESPA courses for adults. The school does not give class sizes.
Address Carrer de Pere Amorós 4, 07570 Artà (Mallorca, Illes Balears)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Makerspace
Campus: The present institute building has been in use since the end of 1977, built by the Artà town council; it was later extended and equipped several times: a library, sports courts, a technology workshop, a music room, computer equipment and audiovisual resources. The building has a solar photovoltaic installation. ESO pupils work on their own Chromebooks, handed out by the school at the start of the year; paid lockers are available. A school bus is organised for vocational students.
Source: iesarta.eu

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not publish the number of teachers: the counter on the About page is empty. There are 18 departments, from mathematics, sciences and languages to PE, sports activities, administration and guidance. British Council programme teachers, besides their subject degree, must show a high level of English; in class they are helped by a language adviser appointed by the British Council and a native-speaker assistant; the British Council has run methodology courses for them, including in the UK.
Source: iesarta.eu

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Cuatronaranjos Murcia Active SchoolMurcia · 63.6Escuela Internacional Waldorf ValenciaEl Puig de Santa Maria · 63.6IES Los MolinosCartagena · 63.5Camino Self-Directed EducationVelilla de San Antonio · 63.5