← Back to homeI.E.S. Martínez Montañés

Sevilla, Spain · est. 1967 · State
Illustration · Sevilla
I.E.S. Martínez Montañés stands in the Nervión district of Seville, at the junction of Calle Fernández de Ribera with Calle Beatriz de Suabia and Avenida Ciudad Jardín, immediately next to another institute, I.E.S. Beatriz de Suabia. The building dates from 1967 and was last refurbished in 1998; the site covers 6670 square metres, of which 4900 are built. The school runs the IB Diploma Programme as one of the streams of its upper secondary stage, and getting into it is a separate procedure: admission to 1º BI, the first IB year, runs by resolution, with lists of those admitted, a waiting list and a list of those excluded, and before enrolment the school calls families to a meeting. The full diploma is offered: three higher level subjects, three standard level, the compulsory core and a minimum of 24 points out of 45. Beyond the school stages the institute runs vocational cycles, including a cybersecurity course, an evening bachillerato and ESPA for adults, and among its projects it names the CIMA programme, "Open Green Classrooms", a co-education and equality project, the OLIMPIA app on relationships and sex education, a reading plan and international Erasmus+ programmes.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish
Admissions Admission to the IB Diploma Programme is competitive and runs separately from ordinary enrolment: the school publishes a resolution setting out the procedure and the dates, then provisional lists of those admitted, a waiting list and a list of those excluded, then final lists, and it calls families to a meeting to enrol in 1º BI, the first IB year. The school states no marks or language requirements in the text of its pages. Ordinary enrolment in ESO and the bachillerato goes through the electronic secretariat of the Junta de Andalucía, and applying online requires an electronic signature for each family member who signs the application. The school writes nothing separately about children from other countries.
Stages and year groups Grades 1º ESO - 2º Bachillerato, vocational cycles, evening bachillerato and ESPA. Compulsory secondary education; a bachillerato - both the ordinary one and the two-year IB Diploma Programme; vocational cycles, including a specialist cybersecurity course; and adult education: ESPA and an evening bachillerato. The IB diploma requires three higher level subjects, three standard level, the compulsory core and at least 24 points out of 45.
Address Calle Fernández de Ribera, 17, 41005 Sevilla
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A 1967 building refurbished in 1998, in the Nervión district: a site of 6670 square metres with 4900 square metres built. There is an inner courtyard with sports areas and three entrances to the grounds - the main one from Calle Fernández de Ribera, a rear one through the car park on Calle Beatriz de Suabia and a service gate from the sports yard on Avenida Ciudad Jardín. The page does not list the full set of rooms.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median84 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country