← Back to homeIES Medina Azahara

Córdoba, Spain · State
Illustration · Córdoba
IES Medina Azahara is a state secondary school in Córdoba, on the Gran Vía Parque, and it carries a motto of its own on its site: "Formando personas, Soñando futuros" - shaping people, dreaming futures. About the timetable it is plain at once: the whole educational offer is in person and mornings only. The compulsory secondary stage runs in two cycles, the bachillerato in two modalities - sciences and technology, humanities and social sciences - and the IB Diploma Programme is laid out unusually generously for a state institute: not as one stream but as four routes at once - social sciences, humanities, engineering and health. Beyond that there are vocational cycles in microcomputer systems and networks (intermediate) and in network systems administration (higher). The school's distinguishing mark is its Aula Confucio: it belongs to the Confucius Classroom programme, has taught Chinese since September 2023 both in lessons and out of them, its pupils celebrate Chinese New Year, and it won a third world prize for a video made by its Chinese students. The institute has fifteen departments, among them Latin and Greek, economics, computing, drawing and fine arts, and a guidance department of its own. Its life is not only lessons: a classics week ("the classical world floods our centre"), a camp trip to Villaduke for first-year ESO pupils, the "El Cervatillo" project, recognised at a conference at the Córdoba teacher training centre, days against violence towards women, and Halloween with a gender perspective.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish
Languages taught
English, French, Chinese
Admissions Admission to the institute follows the general procedure of the Junta de Andalucía; the school publishes its own centre rules and management plan. For the IB Diploma Programme the application is made through the virtual secretariat by 31 March; the selection procedure itself, in the school's words, is set each year by a resolution of the Junta, and it promises details at its open days and through the secretariat's email. The school names no thresholds of its own and no separate procedure for children from abroad.
Stages and year groups Grades ESO (two cycles) - 2º Bachillerato, plus vocational cycles. The whole offer is in person and in the morning session - the school says so outright. The compulsory secondary stage runs as a first and a second cycle. The bachillerato comes in two modalities: Ciencias y Tecnología and Humanidades y Ciencias Sociales. The IB Diploma Programme runs in four routes: social sciences, humanities, engineering and health. The vocational cycles are microcomputer systems and networks at intermediate level and network systems administration at higher level.
Address Avenida Gran Vía Parque 2, 14005 Córdoba
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The departments are published as a list, fifteen of them: Aula Confucio, biology and geology, social sciences, drawing and fine arts, economics, physical education, philosophy, physics and chemistry, French, computing, English, Latin and Greek, Castilian language and literature, mathematics, and guidance. The school does not state qualifications, the pupil-teacher ratio or class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median86 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country