← Back to homeIES Miguel de Molinos

Zaragoza, Spain · State
Illustration · Zaragoza
IES Miguel de Molinos is a state secondary school in Zaragoza, on Calle Gabriel García Márquez. It holds three levels at once: the four years of ESO; the bachillerato in four lines - arts, science and technology, general, and humanities and social sciences - plus a version of the bachillerato spread over three years instead of two; and vocational cycles in commerce and marketing and in computing and communications, including the qualification of Technician in Microcomputer Systems and Networks. The school makes the point that this lets a pupil go the whole way without changing institution. It has two bilingual sections, both long established. The English one follows the integrated MECD - British Council curriculum: the content and methods of the Spanish and British curricula together, Literacy five hours a week plus one or two extra, science and social sciences in English from the first to the third year of ESO and science with economics in the fourth; the school acts as a University of Cambridge examination centre for IGCSE and writes that all of its candidates have passed its International Diploma of Secondary Education six years running. A pupil in that section leaves with a special note about the British integrated curriculum on the ESO certificate and A2 in English, and can sit B1 free of charge at the municipal language school. The French section carries the LabelFrancÉducation mark: four hours of French a week, geography and history taught in French, a native-speaker conversation assistant, an exchange with Nîmes and a trip to Paris, a leaving certificate with a note about the French section, and A2 in French. Entry to the French section requires no test; entry to the English one comes from a bilingual primary school or through an entrance test. Lessons run from 8:15 to 14:05, and bilingual pupils have a seventh hour until 15:00 on one or two days a week, never on a Friday.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English, French
Admissions Admission follows the rules of the Aragonese state system. Into the French bilingual section the school takes pupils with no entrance test, from the first to the fourth year of ESO and into the bachillerato. Into the English bilingual section pupils come either from a bilingual primary school or through an entrance test. Places on the vocational cycles are allocated in a separate application round; for the 2026-2027 year that round opened on 2 July. Enrolment is online on the portal of the Government of Aragon, with the fee paid by card and documents sent by e-mail; for 2026-2027 enrolment in ESO ran from 23 to 25 June. The school does take foreigners: in its list of enrolment documents it names a copy of the DNI, NIE or residence card, that is, it also admits pupils living in Spain on a foreigner's documents. The school names no separate rules for children from other countries.
Stages and year groups Grades 1º ESO - 2º Bachillerato, plus vocational cycles. There are three levels: the four years of ESO; the bachillerato in four lines, with a three-year version; and the vocational cycles - a basic one in commercial services, a basic one in computing and communications, and an intermediate Technician in Microcomputer Systems and Networks. Lessons run from 8:15 to 14:05 with a break from 10:55 to 11:25; bilingual classes have a seventh hour until 15:00 on one or two days a week. Pupils in the first three years of ESO spend the break in the yard with four teachers on duty, and the library is open at the same time with a teacher on duty.
Address Calle Gabriel García Márquez 20, 50018 Zaragoza
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school writes that all of its pupils in the English bilingual section have passed its International Diploma of Secondary Education six years running. It publishes no figures for any other examination.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: Three buildings in the Actur district of Zaragoza: building A houses ESO and basic vocational training, building B the bachillerato and intermediate vocational courses, building C workshops and exhibitions. There are 6 computer rooms, 3 laboratories, technology and computing workshops, rooms for music, art, technical drawing, design and three-dimensional modelling, a "classroom of the future", a multipurpose hall, a gym, a library open during breaks with a teacher on duty, and a yard. The premises are open from 8:00 to 20:30.
Clubs and activities: Erasmus+ · Language immersions and exchanges · Short filmmaking · Podcast · Book fair in English · Pupil research seminars · Science portfolio
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median82 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country